Home Sweet Home?


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
October 27th 2006
Published: October 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

DingoDingoDingo

On Fraser Beach. Taken from the 4x4.
Alas, I sit in Wicked Travel's backpacker internet cafe in Byron listening to techno that I can't help but tap my foot with. On the floor in my bag rest lebanese breads and sauces of various textures and varieties. I have returned to the life that I will pursue for the next month of my life.

I have left behind a man with the most amazing calf muscles I've ever encountered. His name...John Sinclaire. His aim...saving Fraser Island from terrorists to the environment(aka the australian government).

Our trip to Fraser consisted of plowing through rutted sand and being stuck in multiple places. Never before have I had to push a 4x4 so hard.

Fraser was one of those places that will be captive in my mind forever. We swam in water that we could drink. We experienced a dune system that exists in only one location in the world. We learned that coffee rock is definitely not something that one could attempt to drink. I was given two aboriginal names by Russell, an aborigine from up northland. I'm now to be called oonoobara or gigin...which mean koala and wallaby. John Sinclaire (look him up under conservation, Fraser Island,
Wrecked ShipWrecked ShipWrecked Ship

Fraser Beach
amazing calf muscles) is one of the most ridiculous characters on the planet. He was threatened by the Australian government and subsequently many of the gov't employees went to jail on behalf of their illegal interactions with John. I now know what it feels like to be bitten by a jumping bull ant. I also have seen sea turtles, sharks, schools of tuna, whales, and rays from high rocks sticking out into the ocean. I've dug for pippies and nearly been bitten by a crab that was angry with his retrieval from the sand. I've swam in ocean that is shark infested. I've never had so much sand in my sockets.
I couldn't be happier.

If anyone desires to come and visit me in Australia, November is the month to do it. I'll be in Sydney for one week, Byron for 3, and either Brisbane or Sydney for one. I'll be doing research but only for around 30-40 hours a week. I would love to have anyone interested and available and who can afford it to come and spend time here. It's beautiful in every way imaginable. And I miss you all.

More about Fraser to come.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Rainbow SandsRainbow Sands
Rainbow Sands

Sacred aboriginal women's place. Fraser Island.
FraserFraser
Fraser

from here we saw whales, tuna, turtles, and the end of the world.
MeredithMeredith
Meredith

Fraser.
John SinclaireJohn Sinclaire
John Sinclaire

On a beach.
Things growingThings growing
Things growing

on a beach.
Incredible patternsIncredible patterns
Incredible patterns

in sand that looks like snow.
SarahSarah
Sarah

discovering the foam that accumulates on beaches.
And stage 2 of the foam.And stage 2 of the foam.
And stage 2 of the foam.

making delicious mustachoed women.
How sweet it isHow sweet it is
How sweet it is

to play in white sand.
ColorColor
Color

seeds and leaves
RussellRussell
Russell

finding living snacks.
LeafLeaf
Leaf

the prettiest in all of Fraser Island
Water I drankWater I drank
Water I drank

while swimming
The seaThe sea
The sea

between Fraser and mainland
A jellyfishA jellyfish
A jellyfish

that has pollups (similar to coral pollups)living inside it.
The boomerangThe boomerang
The boomerang

that I painted.


30th October 2006

folks back home
I have taken the liberty of sharing your blog address with several people who have expressed interest in checking up on your travels; they include several from your work place at DC manufacturing. The photos are most engaging! Keep sending them! Love, Dad.
31st October 2006

Wow!
Hi Liz, Gosh, I'm so impressed by your blog. How much fun you must be having. I wish I had checked in earlier, so I wouldn't be so far behind on your adventures. Needless to say, I am jealous. What a wonderful experience for you. I especially love the pictures with your comments. That beetle was really scary, though. About saying "hi" and making eye contact...keep doing it! Maybe you could start another research project on human contact. Ha. You never know which person you encounter may be the one who changes your life. Keep a look out:) Your former 6th grade teacher, Dee AKA Kevin's mom
1st November 2006

a "local" within your midst
Bob Bierbower advises his daughter Ann is in Byron Bay at the present time staying in a Hostel. If you keep an eye out for her and spot her some place, make sure you say "hi." If you e-mail me your address, I'll pass it on to Bob, who can pass it on to Ann. Thanks for the great photos! Love, Dad.
1st November 2006

to dad
tell bob to tell ann that i'm at the central apartments for the next couple days and then in sydney. how long is she around?

Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0591s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb