Waiting


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
October 2nd 2009
Published: October 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

With two sleeps to go I decided I needed a new camera for this trip. You know the excuses.... the old one is, well... getting old and it has been dropped and what the hell I can give it to Ruby (my daughter). But while I was gleefully shopping away, practising a little bargaining, before being thrown into the fray of the streets of Siem Reap, news of the earthquakes and typhoons devastating Sumatra, Samoa, Cambodia etc. were filtering through the communication channels. What do these people do to deserve the seemingly endless cycle of natural disasters? This is not a question I expect answered because I realise they have done nothing to deserve it. As much as my sympathy went out to them, characteristically my attention turned to myself.....I did not want to be flying into the super typhoon (Parma) that was heading to the Phillipines on Saturday morning. I'm aware the Phillipines is not Cambodia but too close for my comfort, and besides the ripple effect can be far and wide.
This is how travel is, even before leaving home the excitement of the "what if 's" permeates the pysche making for restless nights and last minute doubts.
Oh, I ended up with the Panasonic Lumix DMC-ZR1, in a racy red.

Denise



Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb