My First Month in Oz: Part One


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
March 15th 2009
Published: March 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Last night I was talking with Marc in japan about how hard it is to keep in touch back home. How even the simplest conversations seem like so much effort because so much happens when you travel to even start to explain it makes ones head hurt. You are around an entirely new environment with new people and new ways of thinking. Your day is so different to whats going on back home. My best friend Abby and I have talked the least amount ever since her and I have officially been best friends. When Im at home and we talk every few days the whole thing just flows but when I call her only twice a month I feel like I have so much to tell her that I can’t even begin to start. (Which has actually worked out well because she has a lot to tell me lately about her brand spanking new house that is weeks away from officially being hers) So this, my friends, is my lame excuse of why a travel blog has taken so long to be posted lately. This one’s gonna pan over two blogs I think..I hope its somewhat enjoyable.

I started Australia off spending five days in the Blue Mts. With my Aussie mum and dad and pseudo brothers and sister and my brand new Aussie niece..this adorable little girl named Alice who, by the way, totally loved me and liked spending time with me. I relaxed and ate wonderful home cooked meals. My Aussie mum did my laundry and took care of me and oh my goodness I loved it. I loved hiking the mountains and sleeping in a big bed and basically I had the perfect first five days in Australia.

After I headed to Sydney for ten nights. This is where a lot of partying took place. I mean like every night I went down to the infamous Side Bar and drank with all my new hostel friends. I had a group called the Goon 8 that became my posse of sorts. Any night I wanted to go out at least one was ready to go. I went to the Sydney Zoo, I saw the most amazing IMAX 3D movie ever called the Haunted Castle, I drank, I went and saw Midsummer Night’s Dream (one of the most amazing, unique productions ive ever seen), I drank, I had dinner off Sydney Harbour overlooking the Harbour Bridge, I spent time at Manly Beach, Bronte Beach, Coogee Beach, Bondi Beach, and then I drank some more. I saw my old friend Lee when he got back from Hawaii, I spent some time with Jeremy, the most awesomenest friend of Lee. I got to spend a few hours with my other old friend Gareth who was only in town for the night. Sydney was great. I love that city but the real part of my trip I was looking forward to happened with a lovely man named Scott and a kickass girl named Sheridan. Thus begins the next part of my outline



Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0318s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb