Do you know the way to Byron Bay..............


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
January 27th 2006
Published: February 2nd 2006
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Hervey Bay to Byron Bay to Sydney


...I've gotta say that i found some peace of mind in Byron Bay...........

Well after an overnight bus and train ride it was definately worth the trip! Its definately somewhere I would come back to - its just nice because it is a small town by the sea although it is totally set up for backpackers/ holiday makers and has a slightly bohemian feel to it. Byron Bay is renowned for its good waves for surfing. Ele and I did a coastal walk and basically spent most of our time here relaxing at the beach, body boarding and swimming. The views from the cliffs were really good and we could see some dolphins out playing near the surfers from there.

I did a snorkelling trip with sundive which was interesting. The sea was quite rough and the water quite churned up so I couldn't see much, it was at the julian Rocks marine reserve. It was the deepest and furthest away from shore i have ever snorkelled (maybe a mile) and I was quite scared about doing it, especially as I was expecting there would be someone in the water with me to guide me and I was also the only snorkeller as everyone else was diving! However I did see some brightly coloured fish and a couple of loggerhead turtles which came to the surface for air. The divers reported they saw leopard sharks, turtles, manta rays (huge eagle spotted ones apparently) and a kind of sea slug called a spanish dancer. Apparently this is a really good place both to dive and snorkel usually but i was unlucky that it was quite a rough day. I guess as the divers saw sharks you could say i've now been swimming with sharks although these are not a dangerous breed!

I met some really fun people in Byron Bay and had a nice time but I'm now back in Sydney and looking for a place to live and somewhere to work but looking forward to returning to Byron bay some day.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 73; dbt: 0.0567s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb