Oz Experience


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
November 29th 2008
Published: December 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Apologies for the long gap in messages, it's been a rollercoaster couple of weeks, not to mention the lack of decent internet facilities in NT....

Having spent a lovely couple of days around Coolangatta, I moved on to Brisbane, up early I caught a bus and a train up to Brisbane, was very pleased how smoothly it all went, checked into the Hostel by 12pm and went walking round as I just had the one day to look round! I started of from the hostel, made my way to the Brisbane Wheel and had a look at the city from higher up! From the wheel I went to the museum, Botanical Gardens, shopping and found myself a little Thai restaurant to get some decent dinner!

The next morning was chilled out, then joined the Oz experience bus from Brisbane that would be taking me down to Sydney over the course of the next few days. The bus ride to our first stop Byron Bay was fine, a minor hiccup as they hadn't booked me in a hostel for the night, apparently I got the last bed in town... once there I could see why no-one else wanted it.. It was Schoolies week (a tradition whereby 18year old school leavers spend a week after finishing their exams getting drunk along the gold coast) I had the pleasure of sharing with three lovely girls, who had a serious aversion to throwing orange peel away, so the room smelt bad, but they promised they were all as quiet as mouses at night and didn't really stay up late.. so off I went for a few beers witht he oz group. Upon my return the girls were out, 3am they returned with their boyfriends, with the loudest whispers I had every heard... so needless to say I wasn't a happy girl and the next morning when I had to be up at 6.30 I made enough noise to wake the whole hostel... which made me feel a bit better! :o)

From Byron Bay we travelled along the coast to "Camp X" my home for the day, Surf School! I spent the afternoon attempting to surf... I really enjoyed it although couldn't actually stand up, but found falling off a whole lot less painful experience than when I had attempted to Snowboard.... so there could be potential there. My sucesses and failures were celebrated with a large quantity red wine and steak for tea... what a great day!

A mammoth 9 hour bus ride, exacerbated by the red wine hangover, took me to Sydney. In the evening Imet up with Nia, whom I had met in Ecuador and happened to also be in Sydney at the time, a couple of beers and a catch up was great!

The next morning I transfered all my stuff into the hotel where I would be meeting the Explore group that evening, I was very excited, I had a clean room with a bathroom with no-one in it but me horrah!





Advertisement



Tot: 0.058s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb