In Byron Bay...soaking up the Sun!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
November 13th 2008
Published: November 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Manly got better. I made friends with a Swedish girl who moved into my room. We went to the Taronga Zoo for the day one day, which was great but sad to see the animals so tame and captivated. The Birds in Fight show was really neat! Louise and I also went to the bar that night and it was offically my first drunk night in Australia. Wow I had fun, even after Louise went to bed. I met some locals, an indian guy, a Canadian and an Aussie and then some random French guy on the street who was just too friendly!
I left Manly after 4 nights at the Boardrider Backpacker(which I do not recommend - sorry Jared!) My Scottish roommate (who's name I never caught and then it was too late to ask!) took the ferry back to Sydney with me where I took a 2 hour train up into the Blue Mountain to stay at the Katoomba YHA hostel. WOW this hostel was like a 5 STAR HOTEL after the boardrider. It was clean and quiet and spacious. The staff GREETED me at checkin with a map and my CLEAN sheets. But wait...when I walked into the
Three SistersThree SistersThree Sisters

Katoomba- Blue Mountains
room i squeeled a little as I was the first one in the room (first pick of bed) AND the bed I chose was on a blacony surrounded by windows. LOVED it 😊
While in Katoomba I hiked in around the mountains and the cliffs. I took the worlds steepest railway into the rainforest, and saw the "Three Sisters."
Yesterday I took that 2 hour train back to Sydney (at 4:30am) then a 13 hour bus to Byron Bay. It was a LONG LONG LONG bus ride and I was going loopy in the end. Luckily I made friend with the Irish buy sitting in front of me. He's hilarious AND obsessed with HEROES too (and How I met you mother) 😊
Today I went to the Organic Market for veg in the pouring rain and then to the beach with Markus until my tan was turning into a burn. Hit the pool and here I am. Sorry its another brief one.
Bye for now 😊
.

Advertisement



13th November 2008

Birds in Fight?
Please tell me you mean "Birds in Flight" show! Hahaha, I never knew the Aussies hosted cock fights in zoos!
24th November 2008

birds in FLIGHT
ooooops yes flight. They few right at your head it was crazy!

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0382s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb