Beach Chillout in Byron Bay


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
December 14th 2007
Published: December 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Day 45: Glastonbury-on-Sea

After an arduous thirteen hours and multiple stops, the bus finally pulled into Byron Bay. It was then just a case of finding the right minibus (which I managed) and then a short drive to my hostel, a slightly run down complex of rooms, redeemed by its direct access to the white sandy beach. Getting into my dorm at about half-past eleven, I found my room mates all still semi-comatose from the night before surrounded by empty beer bottles, wine boxes and wetsuits. They started to come round a bit after I arrived and seem friendly enough. Despite all being a bit hungover, they were soon out surfing nevertheless.

Although fairly small, Byron Bay has a definite 'alternative' feel to it. Walking down the main street, there were shops selling the latest in tie-dye fashion, and advertisements offering massage, crystal healing and the like. Having had some falafels from one of the many great food places selling wholesome veggie food, turned down an invite to join a 'chanting' group that evening, and decided that wrap-around trousers are neither en vogue nor necessary, I went for a walk along the beach and sat down with a book, whilst the inevitable and increasingly thick cloud cover negating the use of factor 30.

Sharing a room with a small group of surfing obsessed boys in their early twenties was always going to be interesting. We didn't have too much in common, but along with a couple of other dorms in the hostel, and with the help of rather a lot of beer and wine, we had a good evening with the small gathering on the balcony outside our dorm turning into a bit of an impromptu party going on until three in the morning. It's certainly a big contrast to a tranquil weekend in the Blue Mountains!


Day 46: Rain, rain, rain....

Waking up with a heavy head to the pit that was my shared bedroom, I was feeling slightly less party-spirited. Everyone's mood was further dampened by the torrential rain that had started in the night and had since resulted in a hostel full of grumpy surfers waiting for the rain to ease off.

Not really in the mood to get drenched, I spent the day at the hostel, with long periods sitting out on the balcony surrounded by empty alcohol containers, reading and watching the storm, interspersed with frequent naps and food breaks. Although possibly not making interesting reading, there are certainly worse ways to spend a day. The weather didn't pick up in the evening, and with the scheduled beach barbecue subsequently being cancelled, I spent a quiet evening at the hostel finishing my book.


Day 47: ...and more rain

It's difficult to know what to do with your time when you're in a beach resort, where most activities revolve around sun, sea and sand, but there are ongoing torrents of rain. It therefore came as some relief when the weather started to settle midmorning and the rain eventually stopped at lunchtime. Whilst things dried up a bit, I went for a walk along the beach, which soon started to fill up as surfers and sunworshippers came out of hiding. It really was lovely in the sunshine with pale sand and blue sea stretching for miles. The surfers here seem to be better than those on Bondi; either that or the surf's better, but there were certainly a few guys who were actually quite impressive, able at least to stand up and ride a wave for more than a couple of seconds. Finding a bit of beach away from the crowds, I settled down for a much needed happy afternoon of lying in the sun.

Staying on the beach until sunset and then getting some food in town, I got back to the hostel and sat out on the outside picnic benches with people from other dorms in the evening. It was a bit annoying to get back to my room at about eleven and find that my lovely roomies were having a party in there. Feeling a bit like my own mother, but likewise aware that I'd have to pack up my stuff ready to leave the next day, I kicked them all out after half-an-hour and sent them down to the beach. I'm finding myself dreaming of early nights and cups of cocoa again. I'm getting too old for this!





Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0541s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb