Last days in Oz.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
May 5th 2007
Published: May 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Where was I last time...being chucked out of the library in Armidale - I think -cos they had rung the bell for closing time at 5 to 6pm ( didnt shout "time gentlemen please" ) but librarian was standing by my shoulder as I wrote my last words. Well later hat night we found a lovely restaurant called The Flying Duck which did tapas... and was lovely --nice spanish music, log fire ( yes it was cool enough -the town is 1000 m up) , lovely couple and YUMMY food. Its a BYO wine so Jenny bought a bottle of Browns Chardonnay!!!
We changed our plan for the route we took as we were told by several fellow travellers that the road to the coast o Coffs Harbour from Armidale (called Waterfall Way) and through the Dorrigo Nat Park was a good road....and WOW - it was. We stopped a lot on the way - Wollomombi ( dont you just love these words!!) Gorge ( 260m highest falls in Oz), Ebor Falls, Dorrigo --fanatsic waterfalls and very deep gorges where you could hardly see to the bottom. WOW wow wow...and then an amazing road crossing some beautiful cattle country and then swooping down through forests to the coast with of course amazing views to the sea. Then we were on the boring main coast highway - so anybody doing a trip thru NSW should take in inland route if they can. We found a motel and most of them are good rooms, clean and we have found quite cheap $75-85 a night between us makes it quite cheap. They have frig,kettles and toasters in room - so you can have a cheap breakfast with your own toast and some fruit.
We arrived in Byron Bay yesterday and found lots of places booked up as there is some swim/surf event on this weekend - so we quickly grabbed a very nice 2bed apartment (we went POSH this time)- with a lovely pool. So have been living the laid back Byron life... well loafing about in a bar drinking cocktails,snacking on tapas as the sun went down last night...then today we did walk all the way along the beaches and up to the lighthouse ( FAB FAB VIEWS OF COAST) , then a quick dip in the sea ....very quick so the sharks didnt get me and then sauntered along to one of the many places doing healthy living and had a "love your feet" pedicure and foot massage while sitting in a massage chair...have never been massaged by a chair before and I can tell you they are bloody good...thats wot I am going to buy when I win the lottery...never mind a sports car!!! Jenny is in there now having a whole body massage while I do the internet cafe - very posh place and they dont look like they want to chuck me out.
Can't beleive it but someone called Tim (not a friend or family member) has read my blog and made a nice comment...fancy someone bothering to read the rubbish I am writing....well thanks Tim if you read this.
So Jenny and I make for Brisbane tomorrow so I think this will be my last blog in Australia. The Wilderness Motorhome Company who I'm hiring the camper from have been great keeping in touch and are even going to deliver the van to the home of the people I am staying with....can't wait for New Zealand now but sorry to leave Oz...and the folk who I have been with who have made it such a greet travelling expereince.
Am sure that I will need my woolly jumper in NZ and probably will have to buy some more socks - seem to have lost some on the way. I am just sorry that I can't seem to get photos out to you all but maybe when I am in my host familly I will be able to get some to you.
Love to you all
Lynne

Advertisement



8th May 2007

Reading your blogs
Hi Lynne, We are reading your travel blogg and you seem to be having a great time. I am very jealous!!! We will get in touch when you are back in blighty!! Continue to enjoy and we look forward to NZ!! Love Bruce, Lorri and Melissa (and Cee Cee, currently a double ASBO cat!!!!)
22nd May 2007

It is a pleasure Lynne. I have just managed to catch up with your blogs which is why this comment is a little behind the times. Enjoy....

Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 15; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0246s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb