Blue Mountains


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Blue Mountains
March 16th 2014
Published: March 26th 2014
Edit Blog Post

The plan was to do two long tracks in only one day:


1. Prince Henry Cliff Walk (11km)


2. Governs Leap (13km)Unfortunately I started my tramping day too late and ended up doing the Govetts Leap when the sun set. There were still 6 km to conquer to reach the carpark. I had to rely on my intuition and all my senses of orientation to make my way through the dark bush. I was lucky to have my light with me and to look for possible tracks. The bad thing about Australia's tracks is the missing sign. You have to decide which direction it is going to be. It was very confusing and scaring to spend so much time and energy on finding your right route. I climbed slippery, steep cliffs and crossed rivers at night far from everybody. There were moments that I couldn't find my way and I got desperate. I was at the edge of spending the night in the bush after such an exhausting walk. But I didn't lose my courage and kept on going making my way. When I reached my goal, I couldn't believe that I had made it. I was almost crying that I came back safely. This was a dangereous adventure that could have ended bad. For me it was a lesson for life.





Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 51; dbt: 0.051s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb