Falling 40ft out of bed


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Batemans Bay
March 8th 2010
Published: March 10th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Rainbow LorikeetRainbow LorikeetRainbow Lorikeet

Feeding from my hand
DAY 487


I heard Andy get out of bed, there were kangaroos thudding around outside, the sounds of the birds echoed through the rainforest in front of us. The sun was not yet high but I could see it was going to be a clear day and in anticipation of actually getting some photos of the beach this morning I once again grabbed my camera and set off to leave Andy enjoying the peace of the morning while I search for that one photograph that could some up depot beach and maybe just maybe an opportunity to photograph a kangaroo on the beach.

Our Friends Marilyn and Lee Harris whom strangely we had met 1 year ago on the 11th of this month when we were in Tasmania, had enjoyed them selves and it was great to see them.

I must say that this camp site was just teaming with wildlife, plenty of Roo’s, Naughty Possums, and loads of Birds, it was just great.

I could not get anything yesterday as the rain started soon after I got onto the beach and had to abandon all plans, arriving on the sand this morning I could see plenty of people out and about enjoying the morning, just one brave person in the water and others are fishing out on the rocks.

Sadly there are no kangaroo’s on the beach, even this early, but I walk anyway and venture onto the rocks to see if the sea has brought anything interesting in overnight.

In the meantime the sun comes up, I head back to camp and a nice hot cup of tea is waiting for me. I start to get a few things sorted out as we are packing up this morning to head back to Canberra in readiness for work tomorrow morning.

We spoke to Barry our camper trailer neighbour this morning and they were woken early this morning by a very loud thud on the top of their canvas about 3 ft from their faces, it was a black Possum who we reckon must have fell out of a tree or missed its target when it was clambering through the tree’s.

You could just imagine it, a black Possum soundly asleep falling out of bed (40 ft) up and landing dazed below.

Well it was pack up day today, we had a brilliant stay ay Depot Beach nr Bateman’s Bay, and we both really felt like we had, had a little holiday and we are sad to be leaving.


While we are packing up we get some visitors of the feathered variety, it seems they have spied a naan bread that was left over from last night and one cheeky bird has just tried to steal it but it falls out of its beak!

The morning was bright and sunny and we were clearing up our pitch and from the curry meal the night before, I had two Naan breads, that would go to waste so I thought I would break them up and throw them to the birds.

I was standing under the awning throwing, bits of naan out and I saw two King Parrots standing on top of the roof rack, so I threw a bit of naan their way and they flew down and ate it, this went on for a little while and we were joined buy a couple more King Parrots and a couple of Rainbow Lorikeets.

As the birds were constantly moving I was throwing bread out and I was
King ParrottKing ParrottKing Parrott

Siting on the awning
nearly back at the awing, one of the Parrots was holding on to one of the Guy ropes and saw that I was holding quite a piece of bread and it wanted some so it flew over and landed on my left arm and proceeded to eat the bread.

As this was happening another Parrot flew on to my other arm them jumped across so I had two king Parrots on my arm.

It was a wonderful experience, so easy interacting with the wildlife.

Caroline was holding on to the guy rope and one of the Parrots went to her and sat on her arm and 2 lorikeets joined me to feed them.

This probably went on for 15-20 Minutes and when all the food was gone they all flew away.

We eventually got everything packed away and Lee said we should come over to their Caravan to have a final cup of tea before we left so when everything was done we wandered over.

We took the lap top with us as they wouldn’t believe what had happened with the birds, so we went through the pictures and explained what had happened.

As we were outside talking we spied those crafty King Parrots again and Marilyn threw some broken Cracker down and they all came over again.

Well with plenty of crackers you could get them to do almost anything and we got loads of pictures.

The weather had come in and it had started to rain very hard so this was a queue to leave, so after lots of kissing and hugging we jumped in the truck and headed off
Our journey back too Canberra was nice but uneventful and we got back to Canberra Motor village about 3.00 and unpacked everything and re set up the whole show again. By the time everything was done it was just after 5.30pm we only wanted something light for tea so settled on some soup.

By the time we had, Caroline had Ironed a shirt me me and a blouse for her ready for work it was time for bed.

Oh how time flies when you are having fun.

Until tomorrow bloggers.



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

This ParrottThis Parrott
This Parrott

Wanted to Skype his mate


12th March 2010

Lucky it was only a little critter
Some Advice my Dad gave me Never camp under bloody big trees
13th March 2010

Beach Kangaroo
Hey guys sounds like you had some lovely relaxing days away. We got some great shots of kangaroos on the beach all the way over in W.A. at Lucky Bay, Cape Le Grand about 50ks from Esperance. So if you go around again theres a guaranteed shot for the scrapbook. Enjoy your 4 day working week, talk to you soon Trueys
16th March 2010

Kangaroo
Hi Trueys, I remember you saying about your beach kangaroo's in WA, pity I have not been at the right place at the right time, I did not even see any at Cape Hillsborough! We will head back to WA at some point to explore that bottom corner that we missed and then perhaps the Gibb River Road, but all in good time. kj

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0331s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb