Almost There


Advertisement
Published: June 6th 2011
Edit Blog Post

1 Day to go

Tomorrow at 10:25am I am scheduled to fly from Sydney to Vancouver. It's finally happening. After months of planning and saving I am almost there. My bag is packed, all 20kgs of it.

I haven't really got much else to say. All I know is that right now I'm think about all the things I am going to miss here in Canberra which is sort of a suprise. My family, friends, hockey, work (gasp!) and just Canberra in general. I never thought I'd miss Canberra but it is pretty cool here.

Also, I'm pretty happy. The Vancouver Canucks made it to the finals and I will be there to cheer them on! 2 wins away from the Holy Grail of Hockey, the Stanley Cup. Vancouver have been in the NHL for 40 years and haven't won yet. They have been close twice. Once in '82 and '94. When Vancouver lost in '94 there were riots in the city. I hope there isn't any this time even if they win. I cannot wait to get amongst the atmosphere in Vancouver, I know this will be a great time for the city. They have waited too long.

When I get to Vancouver I will be Couch Surfing (www.couchsurfing.org). So I haven't met this guy yet but it seems that everyone that has stayed with him has had an awesome time and I hope I do too. Couch Surfing is about cultural exchange. It's not about having a free place to stay. I'm sure my host wants to know about my past and how I grew up in Australia and I hope to learn the same sort of thing from him. Sound be fun!

Yep I'm done now. Plane from Canberra to Sydney in 2 hours. Gotta go.

Cheers,

Jon.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb