Something Cliche like; First Blog!


Advertisement
Published: May 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The Beginning



Sooo what to write...
I thought I might start this a little early so I can write about my trip before I get there rather than starting this blog a couple days after starting my trip.

In 25 days, (Or 611 hours. Or 36691 minutes. Or 2,201,495 Seconds) I will be well and truly on my way to Canada. The land of hockey and moose and maple syrup and hockey and mounties and hockey and K.D Lang. Can you tell I'm excited? I'm excited, not really for K.D Lang. Everyone that knows me knows I'm excited. Those that are close to me are sick of hearing about how excited I am. I'm not erection excited, just excited.

I'm writing this on my lunch hour at work, but my mind is well and truly already in Canada. I have been planning this trip for a long time, but I haven't really acted upon it until recently. By that I mean that I hadn't actually booked my flights until March, less than three months before my trip. I applied for the Working Holiday Visa last year planning on being in Canada by September 2010. But plans change, eg. Becoming and uncle.

So I arrive in Vancouver at 7:30am on the 7th of June after a 15 hour direct flight from Sydney. Methinks this will suck. I'll have to attempt to stay awake until atleast the evening and Bearded Hockey Gods permitting the Canucks will have gone deep into the Stanley Cup Finals and I will be in Vancouver for their victory. One can only hope. My plan is to spend about a week or so in Vancouver sorting out things like my SIN number, mobile phone and a bank account. Maybe even a first aid or bar certificate. Possibly just a little bit of partying too.

Then I will begin my Moose Tour through British Columbia and Alberta. It’s a hop-on hop-off 13 stop bus pass that will take me to places like Tofino, Whistler, Banff and Jasper among other s. I like the idea of being able to stay in a place as long as I like, more flexibility. So I should probably book that pretty soon.

You may ask, ‘why are you arriving in summer? You like hockey and the season is going to end when you arrive. You won’t be able to enjoy the snow!’ Excellent question. 1. I want to escape the Canberra ‘winter’. 2. I want to ease into their winter, rather than arrive in -35 degree weather. 3. Canada comes alive for the summer, and I’ll get to experience the winter too. The working visa is for 2 years! And I plan on using that 2 years.

So as I sit here at 1:58pm at my desk 25 days out from my first real adventure in life, with some new guy asking way too many questions at work, I can’t help but think about moving my flight forward to tomorrow.

Cheers,

Jon


Advertisement



13th May 2011

-35 eh?
It's not that cold on the west coast. In the rockies in the dead of winter perhaps, but we hardly get snow in Vancouver. That being said, i've live in Vancouver all my life and have been to the rockies for a few extended trips and love the west coast. I'd be happy to offer advice, things to see, etc

Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1061s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb