Canberra...a big park with


Advertisement
Published: February 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

We finished tearing out the kitchen and hauled it to the dump. Then, we started in on painting the back wall of the house.
After a day's hard work we would go down to the lovely beach and take a swim! Even got some boogie boarding in and a game of Scrabble.
Leaving Durras was hard. It was a peaceful place to be. Loved the birdlife and the backyard kangaroo mobs.
The drive to Canberra was beautiful. Parts of it reminded me of the Central coast of California.
Canberra is the Nation's Capitol. It is a big park with a well thought out city scattered throughout.
The first night back we took out Johnno's Dad for dinner. We sat at a lovely outdoor cafe and had yummy pizza and red wine. For dessert we shared chocolate pudding and ice cream.
I have been on my own for the last two days while Johnno and Di work. But it has been great to explore this green leafy beautiful peaceful city. The new Parliament house first on the list. Sat in on the House of Representatives. Order, order, order in the court!!
Very interesting architecture...the building is half underground disguised as a long sloping lawn with a big silver wishbone on top!
They were talking about the floods and the fires.
Next stop the old Parliament House. Got a pic of me in a black robe and wig!
Next...and my favorite was the National Portrait Gallery. It was an amazing collection of different portraits of super influential Aussies. Realized just how many styles of portrait painting there are!
High Courts of Australia were next. Not much happening there at the time...but nice to see.
Outdoor sculpture garden next.
It was a lovely day wandering around.
At sunset, Johnno and I drove up to the Telstra Tower (kinda like the Space Needle) and checked out the views of the city from the top.
That night I ate my first Kangaroo. It was pretty good. But I feel bad eating my new buddies!
Had a Scrabble rematch with Wayne later that night. I think he is willing to come to America to play until he wins one.
Di came home late...and we all hung out in the backyard sipping on Pink Fizz (champagne) and looking at the stars (nice to see the infamous Southern Cross) and the moon.
This morning I took Di's bike and
Laughing KookaburrasLaughing KookaburrasLaughing Kookaburras

Looking for a handout!!
circumnavigated the lake. I think I rode just short of 20 miles. The weather was perfect. Stopped to spend a couple of hours in the National Museum of Australia. Lots of neat stuff to check out. The only bummer was I forgot to put in my camera battery in to my camera...so I was essentially cameraless all day. Took lots of mental photos...but none I can share with you.
Tomorrow morning Johnno and I are flying to Brisbane. He has a couple of days work up there. He is working on a Marine Wheelhouse Simulater for big ships....he is their IT guy. I will bee bop around Brissie while he works.
Well, that is all from here for now.
Cheers!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



22nd February 2011

Kristina for President
The Parliament chair fits you. Did you like the Kangaroo meat? Is it hot like summer there now?
22nd February 2011

canberra weather is very pleasant at the moment. the kangaroo meat was good. it was in sausage form.

Tot: 0.101s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0639s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb