Gore Bay


Advertisement
North America
August 4th 2017
Published: August 4th 2017
Edit Blog Post

I am in Gore Bay after spending 4 nights at Oak Bay which is on the north shore of the channel, near Spanish. It was so nice there that I stayed and puttered around. Met some nice people from Elliot Lake and after hearing their thoughts on it I will certainly have a look when I return from my trip. Had a great sail to Oak bay from Mosquito Bay it was tacking all the way and the channel got more and more narrow but I was able to sail throught the opening and right up to the anchorage. That always makes you feel pretty good. When I left for Gore Bay again the wind was vavorable and I was able to sail all the way at 5- 5.5 knots. Gore Bay is a very pretty place and being the cheap guy that I am I am anchored out ( with a lot of others). Last night (Thursday) it rained, thundered and a most impressive lighting display light up the whole harbour, went on for quite a while. Today started out grey and overcast but is mostley sunny and windy. Pete and Joyce were in Oak Bay and are here also, so we are having a good visit. I am going to stay up here for another week and then start back home, I just bought 6 months health insurance for the Caribbean so this should tell you what my plans are for the future. I have met so many people that have done this trip and they all say it will be a wonderful adventure. For those that are interested the Arctic Tern IV is a Duet of Danish design made in Canada, it is 25 feet long 8.3 feet wide and draws 4.5 feet of water. It has 5 feet headroom at the hatch and less as you go forward, small, yes, seaworthy, wonderfully.

Advertisement



4th August 2017

Gore Bay
Great to hear from you Mike. Good to hear all is going well. So six month insurance for the Caribbean ,good for you. Look forward to the next blog. Be save Earl & Bonnie
5th August 2017

Super
I have a relative in Spanish . Be careful. Waiting for next update

Tot: 0.234s; Tpl: 0.034s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb