Alaska or Bust /Our 50th State to Visit and Goblin Valley State Park, UT


Advertisement
North America
July 4th 2012
Published: July 4th 2012
Edit Blog Post

So this is my first entry into a travel blog and I'm not quite sure how it all works, but I will just start writing and see how it goes! In less than two months, my husband and I will be departing on an Alaskan cruise tour adventure to celebrate our 30 years of marriage. It will also be our 50th state to visit. In preparation of this major personal goal in our lives, I have decided to blog some of my favorite places that we have visited in the 49 states that we have been to.

My personal favorite state for visiting, not necessarily living in, is Utah. There are so many reasons I love Utah --the wide open vistas, the dry arid climate in some places, the beautiful rock formations, the colors, the quiteness, the hiking, the National Parks, the State Parks, the mountains, the ever-changing scenery as you drive, and so much more. My husband's favorite state is Colorado--at least they back up to each other so that we can visit both states in a reasonable amount of time. Utah's National Parks are so incredible and there are an abundance of them in this one state. But, I'd have to say that one of my fondess memories of Utah is visiting Goblin Valley State Park with our children when they were small and again as young adults. It is located about 24 miles south of I-70 off of Highway 24 near Hanksville, UT. It is a little ways off the beaten path, but worth it. Goblin Valley includes an area were soft sandstone has eroded into interesting shapes, somewhat resembling goblins. In some spots the mushroom-shaped rock formations are close together and produce a maze-like playground ideal for family explorations and hide-go-seek games. Many people think the park landscape has a surreal appearance. The movie, Galaxy Quest, was filmed here because of its unearthly scenery. Visit Utah, you won't be disappointed! I love it!


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.191s; Tpl: 0.022s; cc: 5; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0531s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb