Rihla 16


Advertisement
North America
January 26th 2012
Published: January 26th 2012
Edit Blog Post

1.Celebrate your history at UICCP: What is a mountain that you think you have climbed since your time here at UICCP? Be specific and explain. What helped you cross this mountain?

I have overcome my dislike for math and being tolerant of the strict curiculam UICCP offers. I have overcome my dislike for math when I was failing Algebra 2 my junior yeaa. I have always disliked math because math has not been a subject that comes easliely to me. The reason I became tolerant with math was because I had to take SES classes for math after school . At this time Mr. Insalaco was the math instuctor and he made me practice problems over and oer until I got them right. Eveventually it became easier to solve problems , so I learned that all I needed was to practice more because since math is not easy for me I had to put in more effort than other students.






2. What immediate mountain is before you in your final semester as a senior? Be specific. How do you plan to tackle this mountain? How do you need help climbing this mountain?

The mountain of actually getting through my senior year with a good GPA. I plan on staying focus on the present and enjoying senior year as well as focusing on what I have now and think about the future but not as much as I did first semester. I will do this by asking questions in class , attending office hours more often , and asking for help when I get lost instead of waiting until the last minuet to undestand something. I need the support of my teachers and family to help me stay focus.






3. Create a mountain! Of course there will be many challenges and responsibilities that come with getting older. But what is a mountain that you want to create for yourself? Why this mountain? How do you plan on tackling it?

I plan on attending college and proving to other that I can make something out of myself even if I am Hispanic and of low income. I know this challange won"t be easy but I hope to prove all those who have told me that a community college would be a good option for me. I want to show others they can attend a four year university and live the college life they choose. I also want to do this so my family and children are more likely to follow my footsteps since I took intiative to get a good education. I plan on attending a four year university and doing all that I can to get through college and at the same educate other hispanic students on how they can acomplish their goals like i have acomplished mine. I know this journey will take time but i believe it will be worth it in the end.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0413s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb