Day 39 – It’s Time for Home


Advertisement
North America
October 1st 2011
Published: October 1st 2011
Edit Blog Post

So the dream is nearly ended & it’s the long trip is coming to the final curtain. Today it’s an early start for what will be a long journey home. It’s starts in Las Vegas, back via NYC, then onto Manchester and finally into Leeds before arriving back in Harrogate. The trip back actually isn’t as bad as I expected and I think the break in NYC actually helped. As usual, nothing is ever smooth & starts with a delay in Vegas so did this it could be the journey from hell. Arriving in Manchester was the reality check that I’m back in the UK, the trip is over but have to reassure myself that I will be back in the US very soon. When waiting for my suitcase that jet lag, sick feeling hit me….it’s awful but have to fight through it. Unlike me on arriving back to Harrogate I actually went to the gym for a swim to make sure I didn’t go to sleep. Although I was swimming with my eyes shut, it was tough but was worth it as I practically got the through the jet lag in 24 hours.

So now I’m on the final few paragraphs of my blog…..so how can I summarise this trip? If I look at my mission statement in life I think I’ve lived & breathed it for every single day. Below is just part of my mission in life and hopefully through this blog you can see that I’ve lived my dream & has been been one of my most happiest times of my life.

To live my life with no regrets,
To try new experiences,
To make my life one big adventure
To travel the world & see other cultures
To live my life to it's full potential

To become stronger through each new challenge I face
To laugh and have a twinkle in my eye
To smile through both good & bad times
To enjoy my life both in work & play

To leave this world a better place
and fulfilled everything I've dreamed of

But most of all …
to seize the day and make my life extraordinary!

I could have easily continued the trip for another 6 weeks, 6 months or even 6 years. At no point in my life have I felt so contented in my life. I always feel happier when I’m not in the USA and this trip has again reinforced that I’ll end my days in the US of A.

So what have been the highlights?

Top 3 places I visited
1. Vegas, Vegas, Vegas baby!!! Oh my god… what fun with my sister and meeting Matt Goss. I can’t wait to go back!

2. Bryce Canyon…the one place which just made me go WOW, WOW, WOW at every view point. One of the most beautiful places in the world

3. New York…..flying into the city at night to see the lights of the city & probably the most famous skylines of the work….what a view from the aeroplane….one of the best WOW moments ever.

Top 3 best meals! You know how much I like my food

1. Wolfgang Puck, MGM Hotel Vegas…best pizzas
2. Grand Lux Café, Venetian Hotel Vegas….best pasta
3. Dessert heaven in Salt Lake City….26 desserts to choose from…Pecan Pie!!!

Top 3 best experiences

1. Matt Goss….say no more & had the most memorable & lasting memories to take home

2. Seeing Phantom of the Opera on Broadway in NYC…taken me 3 attempts to see it!

3. USA Hospital experience in Denver. I can look back at this now & isn’t something everyone gets to do!!!

Most Disappointing Moments

1. People in NYC are so rude, stressed & miserable

2. Salt Lake City…most soul less place I’ve been to…maybe the influence of religion

3. Hotel Pennsylvania bedrooms….I will never go back there….awful

So here ends the blog......for now....until the next adventure starts!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.192s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0821s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb