Preparation


Advertisement
North America
October 16th 2010
Published: October 16th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Less than two weeks until I leave. Done at work. Doing the family vacation tomorrow to get Christmas and Thanksgiving celebrated. Law School Applications are all sent. Rabies, Japanese C Encephalitis, Typhoid Vaccines all administered. The tough thing about this point in the pre-trip setup is that there is basically nothing for me to do, but I feel like there should be a million things I need to accomplish.

So, I have been thinking about this trip my whole life, and am at the best point in my life to get to actualize it. As for motivation, I don’t really know, just a general curiosity and wanderlust that has been inside of me. Not everything has to be rational.

I will hopefully be “couchsurfing” through all of these locales, which is supposed to be a great way to meet the locals on a budget.

Egypt
October 28-Flying to Cairo. Staying there probably a week.
Early November-catching a bus to Alexandria, hopefully staying with some family of a friend of ours for a few days.
Back to Cairo for a few days, then off to Dahab in the middle of November---from there I would like to climb Mt. Sinai and get Scuba Certified, weather permitting.

India--Plane Ticket for Dec 6 Cairo-Mumbai. This is the heart and soul of the trip, and I am hoping to spend at least 5 months here, until the end of April or maybe into May. A big part of this will be dictated by money, health, and how satisfied I am that I have seen everything that I want to see. The 5 main cities/regions i want to explore are the Ajanta Caves, Kerala, Jaipur, Amritsar, Varanasi, and Bodh Gaya. I have some connections in Hyderabad are Trichy in the south that I will hopefully get to meet. Also my sister is going with a college class to volunteer outside Visakhapatnam, and I will hopefully be able to volunteer with them. This should give me a good sense of what it is like to travel, will do the Sikh, Buddhist, and Hindu pilgrimages, see the Himalayas, and hopefully get a chance to use my scuba license. A lot of this is not planned beyond vaguely having some things in mind that i want to see, as I want to leave it open to unexpected experiences without feeling tied to a strict itinerary. I have already taken some precautions but will be OCD about cleanliness, mosquitoes, and clean water, as a huge limiting factor is going to be my health.

Spain?--Haven't bought my return ticket home yet, but if I can afford it I may spend a week or two in Barcelona on the way back. Sort of like a vacation to reward myself for not dying.

Another thing that I will be writing about is Law School. I sent out my applications in September and will comment on them as I find out if I have been accepted. I should start finding out around January-February. If I don't comment on them... hopefully they don't all reject me.

If my bodyweight falls below 145 (current is 185) I am aborting the trip and buying a ticket to a modern country where I can eat without fear of parasites. This is actually a legit concern since I dislike Indian food.

I also plan on growing a bad-ass beard and being generally weird.

Advertisement



4th November 2010

Go get em!
Kopp, I salute you! This seems like the experience of a lifetime, and I hope you enjoy every minute of it. If you have a chance to take some pictures, I wouldn't mind living vicariously through you. You're a very sincere person and it's great to see you acting on something that you've wanted to do for ages. I hope you achieve what you are shooting for. Maybe you'll even develop a liking for Indian food! Good luck, have fun, and be safe. Adam
5th November 2010

Good luck
I admire you for ability to go after what you want to do... I hope you have a ton of fun and see some amazing things. I find it hard to believe that you'll be OCD about cleanliness, but I guess when your life's on the line, it can put things in perspective. Furthermore, you shouldn't "plan" on being generally weird, as that occurs naturally for you! Have fun, and keep us posted! CK

Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0506s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb