The Buck's Show


Advertisement
North America
August 31st 2010
Published: September 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Bad Luck Bananas


We were up and in cabs by 5:45 on our way to the harbour for the fishing trip. Blake and I popped a couple of anti-nausea pills before the boat pulled out. As it turns out, we never lost sight of any of the islands, so the meds weren't really necessary.
The beers were cracked and we started to made our way out of the harbour. Andy was given his ceremonial BuckĀ“s Show get up - a grass skirt and coconut bikini.
We got a crash course in catching fish - basically you're supposed to drop the line in and then wait for them to bite - and then took off to see what we could catch.
After a few minutes Blake and I decided to eat our breakfast, consisting of a banana each. The captain saw them and his face dropped.
"You brought bananas?"
Apparently this is a fishing no-no. Being a first time fisherman, how was I to know? I blamed Blake, he's been fishing all his life.
Turns out this wasn't common knowledge for most people, because Andy had brought a banana along as well. The captain got all of our bananas, the skins from the bin and threw them into the ocean.
And now for the punchline. Between 15 of us, fishing for hours at a time, we caught a grand total of... 1 FISH!
Obviously, I copped my fair share of flack for this. One of the deckhands was the least impressed with my efforts. Upon asking him for help with my reel, he responded
"We knew you were a first timer from the moment you walked on to the deck."
The sign on the boat imploring us to tip the crew was left unheeded.
Other than the lack of fish, it was a great morning. The sun was out and a pod of dolphins were playing around the boat for ages. The only problem was that I was dead tired. I had three little snoozes on the boat and still couldn't shake the groggy feeling.
We went back to the hotel at lunch time and ate and drank by the pool. Blake went back to the hotel room to have a snooze. I lay down on a banana lounge by the pool and did the same.
An hour later I awoke and went back to the room to get Blake. While I was there I checked the anti-nausea meds we had taken that morning.
"WARNING - may cause drowsiness, especially if mixed with alcohol"
At least I now had a reason.
We went out that night to a bar called Moose McGillycuddy's. Tacos were on the menu followed by drinks. Lots of drinks.
Matty Rayment did his absolute best to organize a stripper. He had asked every cabby in every cab we drove in and bought the local paper to check the personals, all to no avail. Andy's Buck's party had zero strippers and in the end, his fiancee and all the other girls staying at the hotel as part of the wedding came out too. It was a fun night. Stoney was not impressed.
"When I get married if there's no stippers and my fiancee is there I'm gunna be so pissed off at you guys."
I admit, we put on an ordinary Buck's show, but Andy enjoyed himself, so what are ya gunna do?



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

MeMe
Me

To be fair, I wasn't sick once all day.
Andy and JamieAndy and Jamie
Andy and Jamie

Moose McGillycuddy's


Tot: 2.714s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.058s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb