When and Where, When Over There


Advertisement
North America
March 30th 2009
Published: March 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I leave in just under 36 hours from Louisville. First stop, Beijing, China. From the time I leave the airport in Louisville, fly to Tampa, catch my international flight from JFK in New York City, and eagerly depart my Air China flight in Beijing, I will be about 23 hours into my journey - a long day, to say the least!

Truth or dare: Truth. I haven't even thought of what to pack for China. I always plan ahead and prepare myself for all things, but it seems that no matter how "ahead" I am with this trip, I'm never done! I'm not complaining, I'm actually quite relieved that my once high-strung OCD regarding packing and organizing my belongings has slowly untwined a bit. I'll pack in the morning. My pack for Thailand, however, is nearly full of the essentials: supplements, medicine, bathing suits, shaws and dresses, and honestly, not much else. I'm so excited.

So everyone has been asking me the same question: "WHERE ARE YOU GOING?" My final answer is that I have a general, and sometimes specific, itinerary, but have almost no reservations. This is because I clearly don't know what is best, and this being my first "big trip" will be as much a learning experience as anything else. I'm waiting to hear where to go (and not go) while I meet people along the way...

But I won't delay any longer, so here is what I know so far:

March 31- fascinating (right!) 23 journey to Beijing, China. I will kindly point to the Chinese font and wait patiently for the taxi driver to take me to my dad, brother, and the 12 others in our Middle Kingdom tour (http://chinaspree.com/china-tour-package-itinerary.asp?tourID=2009001).

April 1-11: "Middle Kingdom Tour"
In China on a nice guided tour. Beijing, Xian, and Shanghai.

April 11-15: Depart Shanghai, fly through Hong Kong, and ARRIVE IN BANGKOK!! I arrive at midnight, so again, I will kindly trust the taxi driver to take me to my hostel (http://www.nirasbankoc.com/).

April 16-19/20: "Mom arrives"
On the 16th, my mom and I will stay in a family friend's condo, which he is lending us while away on vacation - it's beautiful, overlooks "The Central Park of Bangkok", and I'm just thrilled! (http://www.hamptons.co.th/html/royalsaladaeng/photos.asp)

April 20-May 3: "Traveling with Mom"
-National Park
-Phi Phi Island
-Krabi
-George Town, Malaysia

May 6-10/11: "FULL MOON PARTY"
I'll head to the Gulf of Thailand and sleep all day and party all night - Ko Pha-Ngan. Google "full moon party".

May 12-18/19?: "Re-coop in Bali"
I'll head to Ubud, Bali, Indonesia for a little R&R after the Party craziness. Ubud is inland, and an artsy village. I'm looking forward to meeting the locals.

*FROM HERE, DATES ARE UNCERTAIN*

Things I will do:

Volunteer at Pun Pun Farm, near Chaing Mai, Thailand. (http://www.punpunthailand.org/about.html).
Pun Pun is a sustainability farm, and I've spoken with the owner; I'll be staying to volunteer for several nights.

Head north to Pai, a "hippy/low-key" town. My friend Dan will be posted here for a bit, so I will visit with him.

Cross the border to Laos and Vietnam; I'd like to visit Cambodia if time permits.

June 7: Depart for London. I'll spend several nights in London, then head to the Home Land (of course!) ISRAEL.


Enough from the travel bug, I'm completely exhausted.
To my loving family and friends, thanks for all your support as I've shared my thoughts and updates with you over the past SEVEN months. It started as a dream, then an intense research project, and now a reality; this trip has completely consumed my life, and I couldn't feel any luckier to be on the ride.

PEACE.LOVE.PAD THAI. 😊

Advertisement



30th March 2009

Good Luck, Be Safe, and Have the Time of your Life
Libby~ I am soo soo soo excited for you and the amazing trip you have planned. I think back to class together when you would get so excited because your book came in the mail or you found out a parade was going to be in the city you were going to be in at the same time! I have seen you go through so many exciting moments coming up to this trip and I wish you the best and cannot wait to read and see what you are experiencing. Have fun, learn about other cultures and enjoy the amazing food! I can't wait to hear all about it! Much love, Maxine

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb