Baby, It's Cold Outside


Advertisement
North America
March 1st 2009
Published: March 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


We got to go to church today! Around 10 o’clock, we found ourselves (and the Choir) at a nice little Vineyard church in Green Bay. Great little set-up they have. They don’t have a building, but instead, meet in some sort of theater/club. We sat in booths with tables, but there were also bar stools and café tables set up in various places. Worship was great! I didn’t know the Vineyard songs, but there were some that I did know. The pastor reminded me a lot of a bald Jim Romack. “We’re going to take the offering, so just pass the baskets and fill them up! Oh wait. I’m going to say a lot of inappropriate things today, so bear with me.” “We’ve reached the pinnacle of our worship service today. It’s time for announcements.” The atmosphere was casual; I didn’t even feel odd in my bright orange flip-flops (although, it was 9 degrees outside.) I’m very glad we got to go.

Then we had a long drive; most of which I slept. But I also finished my book! We headed north, and then more north, and to change it up, went north. Now we find ourselves in the UP- the upper peninsula of Michigan. Kyle thought it was a good idea to turn the thermometer to Celsius again, giving us a low today of -16! That’s about 6 degrees Fahrenheit for the rest of us. There are snowmobile (and truck) tracks all over the frozen Lake Superior, and the other lake that I can’t remember the name of. And the lakes are also littered with little fishing huts- something else I’ve never seen in real life. On our journey, we also went back into Eastern time- it’s sort of like last spring where we rode the time zone line up the middle, switching almost every stop. Getting a bit confusing.

Something really funny happened in the parking lot today, but I can’t remember what it was.

We ate at a little pub, which was pretty good, and then Sarah and I watched a movie and I wrote out my notes from the book I just finished. That really was the sum of what happened today.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 997.9kb