The rain in Maine is really a pain


Advertisement
North America
September 6th 2008
Published: September 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

COS to Brunswick, Maine


We managed to make it out the door at 4:30 a.m. Our plane took off on time and landed in Dallas on time. Our plane to Boston was completely full but it was a fairly smooth flight. We beat hurricane Hannah by about two hours which was great because it was a big concern. To have our flight cancelled or even delayed would have really messed things up for us.

We landed in Boston and oh my god it was hot and muggy. I thought Dallas was bad but Boston was worse.

We walked out of the terminal and right in front of us was the shuttle for Avis. We got to Avis and after having to wait for about a half hour got our little blue car that will be our part-time home for the next two weeks. It is a Nissan Versa and it is ok. Not especially roomy but then its not a gas hog either.

We got the laptop plugged in and the GPS set up and........nothing. We or I should say I couldn’t get it to work. This is a bad thing in Boston. I had turn-by-turn printout directions but that wasn’t nearly adequate.

Well we had no choice. We took off in a cloud of dust got on a freeway doing about 150 mph and that was to keep from being run over by traffic, in the general direction we needed to go and I pulled up the maps on the laptop but it was impossible to even figure out where I was, things were whizzing by so fast . Boston traffic (even on a Saturday afternoon) is so crazy that you have to drive fast just to get out of the way. Thanks to Cal’s innate sense of direction (his words, not mine, but true) we actually got to where we needed to go ... out of town...and ended up in Freeport, Maine a couple of hours later. We are staying in Brunswick but Cal wanted to try and find a place where he had had lunch about 30 years ago. I was pretty skeptical about this but strangely we were referred to a restaurant that turned out the be the exact restaurant he remembered.

....and Sherrie walks into seafood heaven.

...but before that I walked into ocean heaven. Having spent quite a bit of my youth living near the Pacific Ocean there is "that smell". I would guess it is a combination of salt, and fish and rotting seaweed but it has a strange almost visceral affect on me, kind of like going home and the moment I opened the car door at this little restaurant that smell hit me. Cal doesn't particularly like it but to me it is like perfume...ok I'm being dramatic but for some reason it is very comforting to me.

This place is called Harraseeket Lunch and Lobster and is on the wharf and just a little dive-ey looking place where you ordered outside at a window and then either eat under some tarps outside or in the small dining area. It was starting to drizzle by this time (hello Hannah) so we opted to eat inside. The place was very busy. You could order a full lobster dinner ... whole lobster, steamed clams, new potatoes and corn for $21.95 at another window but I didn’t find out about that until after I’d ordered my scallops. I figure I’ll get my quota of lobster and to be honest I like scallops about as much as I like lobster so I was ok with that. The scallops by the way were delicious.

After dinner it started raining harder so it appears Hannah had finally arrived. We made it to Brunswick about 5 miles further north and checked in for the night. The Knights Inn was okay. Nothing fancy, a little musty but clean and reasonable.

Didn’t do much but turn on the TV and go to bed. It had been a really long day; up at 4:30 and losing 2 hours time-wise. We was tired.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb