Just another weekend..


Advertisement
North America
June 11th 2008
Published: June 11th 2008
Edit Blog Post

The weekend just gone was a goodie!

Thursday night we went back to the Beaver to reform Fireball Whiskey and reclaim our title as Trivia champions! I was at the bar first, cos I finished work at 4:30 and there’s no point in going home to then go into the city an hour or so later. Mary-Anne came shortly after, but I started on the long islands before she got there. We met two nice English backpackers, Vicky and Mary.. Lotsa fun! We, sadly, didn’t win trivia, didn’t even come close.. But it was still fun! The questions were a lot harder this week. I was pretty drunk by the end of the night, I’d been drinking since 5:30! Fair effort for someone who was going to have a sober night!

Waking up the next morning wasn’t fun, but obviously had to be done. After work Nikki, Mary-Anne and I met up at the Cambie for dinner and a drink or two before meeting Vanessa to see Brooke Fraser! The gig was supposed to start at 6, which is super early. At home a 6pm start would mean the support would start at 6:30 or 7, and the main act wouldn’t be on til 7:30 or 8, yes? Not so here! We got there at about 6:30, only to have missed half the support act! His name was William Fitzsimmons and he was really good. Beautiful voice.. Look up is version of King of Wishfl Thinking (from Pretty Woman if you didn’t know). Brooke Fraser was also really good too.. She has an extremely beautiful voice. I grew to love some of her songs even more by seeing her sing them live. She’s great. After the gig Vanessa went home and Mary-Anne, Nikki and I tried to go back to the Cambie. The line was huge and the charge as $10 so we decided to give it a miss. Mary-Anne went home and Nikki and I went in search of somewhere else. Our numbers were dwindling but our spirit wasn’t! Or..something.
We ended up going to a place called Malone’s, which had really really nice cocktails and what looked like nice food, but it was really quiet. Nikki had a craving for this spinach and artichoke dip she had had at the Roxy, so we went there. The dip was pretty good, let me tell you! We decided to call it a night at a little after 12, and it was hometime!

I did absolutely nothing on Saturday, which was awesome. I watched Arrested Development, slept, listened to music.. Basically stayed in my PJs til 4pm when I decided it might be a good idea to face the world. So I tried my best to pretty myself off and it was off to the Beaver to meet up with the girls! We had a spot of dinner (I shared a serve of perogies, which might help to explain my state later on in the night!) and a drink or twelve, before heading down the street to the Cellar. Before we left, Nikki and I got jagerbombs. It was going to be a good night! I remember getting another vodka and being bought another jagerbomb, then not a lot else. I know I met two boys, Matt from Seattle and Dennie from Edmonton (pretty impressive that I remember that much eh!?). I’m going to Edmonton and Seattle in July, so both told me to call them when I get to their town so they can show me around. Yay!
The night ended relatively late, and we found ourselves sprawled out on Granville st at about 4. My phone tells me I got into a taxi at about 4:00, and I didn’t get home til after 5. I asked the taxi driver to drop me off at Metrotown, the shopping centre near my house, cos he didn’t know where I was and I thought I did. Wrong. I walked around for what seemed like a looooong time. I’m surprised I didn’t wake up in a gutter actually, I was so tired and drunk that I just wanted to be in bed! Some nice people on a balcony gave me directions then called me to make sure I got home safely, and I got directions from a lady in a shop that seemed to be concerned about my safety. Ahhhh everyone is so nice. I got home and into bed somehow.. Though I can’t remember which door I came in or if I spoke to anyone (Anyone notice a pattern?). I woke up at 10:30ish surprisingly hangover-free! Getting good at this! Nikki and I met up at Metrotown and saw Sex and the City. SUCH a good movie!! Definitely recommend it to everyone.

So my next blog will cover what I did last weekend, sorry about the jumping around, but you’ll be OK!

Til then my loves

xx


Advertisement



11th June 2008

Errr..
What kind of 'shop' was open at that time of the day?

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1004.3kb