Last Hour in America


Advertisement
North America
March 1st 2008
Published: March 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

I love being in the airport. I can't exactly describe as to why I feel this way. Maybe it's the hustle and bustle, the fantasizing of the stories of the people you see (where are they going, where are they from, why are they embarking on this adventure), the feeling of being alone (when flying solo), but not being lonely...

My trip to Japan had gotten off a bad foot; I was taking two planes to get to Tokyo (Narita Airport) on Friday morning, but the first plane from South Bend to Chicago was delayed (and it wasn't even snowing or any other kind of precipitation!), and thusly would make me unable to miss my connecting flight from Chicago direct to Tokyo (there's only one plane from Chicago to Japan per day). I was then pushed to the flight on Saturday, but I did not want to risk having another SB-Chicago delay (I've traveled through South Bend Regional much, since attending Notre Dame, and have had several delays), so I picked up the bus option, and picking up my connecting flight there. I was very upset at this though, one should realize. I'm flying to the opposite side of the world, and having to relinquish 27 hours out of my spring break to do so, and then to have this delay make me miss an extra day in Japan! Very upsetting.

Anyhow, I am writing this little bit of blog at the gate, as I am waiting to board the plane which I will be on for the next 13.5 hours. Cabin fever, much?

Oh, I'll go ahead and discuss what is going to happen when I arrive. Since I am pushed back a day, Nic can't pick me up at the airport, since he is working that day, and so I am going to have to do all of the following, all by my lonesome, at the airport: 1) Exchange USD to yen 2) Rent a mobile phone 3) Find the train to Shinjuku station, where Nic will pick me up 4) Buy the train ticket 5) Board the train and not miss my stop. ::phew:: I hope all goes well, I'm a bit scared. That's a lot on my shoulders, especially since I have never flown alone internationally. ::crosses fingers::

Advertisement



Tot: 0.162s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0397s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb