Worst trip ever.


Advertisement
North America
February 13th 2007
Published: February 13th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well, we are just back from our trip to Arizona. This trip which was supposed to be a quick get away to somewhere warm and to visit Wendy's very old Grandma. The trip started to go wrong even before we left. We got a call that her Grandmothers health was failing, then another that she had died. This would be an entirely different type of trip.
One plus side of this development is that Wendy would get to see family members that she hadn't seen in 25 years(yikes!)So the family part of this trip was the only good part. It was so nice to meet all of these interesting people to whom we have a connection. The trouble began with an unwanted visitor that accompanied some family members. After a couple of nights with not enough sleep not to mention the stress of traveling I picked up the flu. This is not a cold that I am referring to but the full on "this must be what the bird flu feels like" flu virus. I was able to medicate myself well enough through the first few days of my present misery, but then I reached a point where it got the better of me. I had a hacking cough, runny nose, chills, aches, and a general desire to lie down and moan. My wife's cousin introduced me to theraflu nighttime. It works but it will make you stupid if you take it during the day. This is of course what I did on the day of our return flight. I blame the threaflu for causing me to forget my wallet in the rental car. That's right, not only do I have to worry about financial ruin from identity theft but I can't board the plane! I make a quick phone call to Enterprise rental cars who saved the day by not only quickly finding my wallet but by bringing it to me at the terminal. Way to go Enterprise!
Now that I had my I.D. I was able to board the plane, however in my drug induced stupor I failed to remove my quart bag of liquids. Between that and the fact that my wife had wedged a cast metal figurine into my dirty clothes bag I was selected for a bag search by the T.S.A. At this point in our trip I just wanted to curl up in a coughing ball and pass out but oh-no, I have to watch a burly man in polyester go through all of my dirty clothes.
After this final humiliation we were allowed to proceed to our gate where we found that boarding was almost complete. This of course meant that almost all of the overhead compartments were full. I was able to find a place for my bag but Wendy was not. That meant that for our cross country flight her maximum sized carry-on was wedged under the seat in front of me. The flight was long but uneventful and we arrived in Newark on schedule. After a delayed flight on our final leg home and an hour and a half drive home our trip was complete. I don't think that I have ever been so happy to be home.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb