So Begins Another Weary Day


Advertisement
North America
October 27th 2006
Published: January 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Woke up to find the rain pouring down.

Figured that this was going to be a day mostly spent in the car. Started humming the Madness song “Grey Day”. I always do that when I wake up to this kind of weather.

Decided to go west on the Crooked Trail, hopefully making it all the way to Bristol where Henry Whitter first recorded in 1927.

The weather guy on the radio said there was a 100% chance of rain today. Boy, was he right. It never once stopped during the whole day.

The road was sooo crocked and the weather so bad that I only made it to Damascus before I decided to turn south. I wanted to make sure I was back in Galax before 7PM when The Rex Theatre was to put on their weekly live music show, broadcasted to several states on the AM net. At Damascus I turned south in to Tennessee. The mountains were smoking like crazy here. Yes, I know they’re called the Smoky Mountains but I didn’t think it would be that visual. The ride all the way from Galax run parallel with a river on either side of the road. Drove through Mountain City and most notable thing from there was that my cell phone had reception!

Soon after Mountain City I thought I found heaven. The small road going back in to North Carolina and the city of Jefferson was the #1 ride in the US so far. The road rolled through some wicked lush valleys. And as if the scenery wasn’t enough I stumbled across a huge gas station memorabilia auction place and a couple of second hand car dealers with “real” cars for sale. Like a Ford Mustang, for instance.

Exhausted from all impressions and a long drive in bad conditions I went back to my funky motel for a quick shower before heading off to The Rex Theatre. The live bands were fantastic. They both played bluegrass in the traditional style. I couldn’t figure out why the first five rows of chairs had been taken away until people started flat footing and slow dancing away. Here’s a link to The Rex and the radio show: http://www.rextheatergalax.com/

After the show I was privileged enough to meet Stu Shenk and his lovely wife. Stu is the live sound engineer at The Rex. He had
I love hayridesI love hayridesI love hayrides

Not sure about the cookout, though. Especially not combined
fallen off a roof recently while doing carpeting but was lucky enough to actually land on his feet! His back was pretty badly hurt so for the moment he walked with his back fixed and a cane in his hand. Still, I had to jog a little to catch up with him when we walked down to the café where people meet up after the Friday night show. I showed them the pictures from my day and told them my fav car in the whole world is the red ’65 Ford Mustang. Stu’s wife reply:-“I used to own one”! Then she said -“there’s one for sale up the road”.



Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

The inflight to Mountain CityThe inflight to Mountain City
The inflight to Mountain City

With the Smokies in the background
Plus a StudebakerPlus a Studebaker
Plus a Studebaker

And an Oldsmobile and more
The Josh Crowe BandThe Josh Crowe Band
The Josh Crowe Band

The fiddler used to play with Bill Monroe...


Tot: 0.379s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 50; dbt: 0.053s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb