The Departure Lounge


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
December 16th 2016
Published: December 16th 2016
Edit Blog Post

I always find that as one waits in the departure lounge, the realization of the journey ahead finally begins to trickle into ones consciousness. Once I set my purse down and collapse into an airport chair, I finally come to understand that I am leaving. I... Am... Leaving. I repeat the words in my mind as cliche images of my destination flash through my mind and I try to image the taste of the food, the smell of the air, and the music of the languages. Yet today's journey seems the most surreal dream of them all, and even as I sit in the lounge, I cannot seem to visualize past France and Italy. China remains a pipe dream, smoked since youth and too gaseous to solidify within my mind. Yet, on January 26th I will in the nation-state whose language I have practiced and whose politics I have studied. Here, I will test the knowledge gained through my textbooks through its application in daily life. Life assigns no grades; you cannot fail it, you can just survive.



With that in mind, wish me luck.





Advertisement



16th December 2016

Hey!
I can't believe you are going to China. Have an awesome trip.

Tot: 0.17s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb