Change starts slowly...


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
August 11th 2015
Published: August 12th 2015
Edit Blog Post

I keep an old beer growler in my room and drop change in it when I have it. Pennies, nickels and dimes, but never quarters as those go to laundry. The last time I cashed in my growler was like six years ago. I had just come back from a bachelor party in Vegas and literally had no money for like five days. My growler got me $70 that day and it was life or death. The growler had finally refilled and I thought what better reason than this trip to cash it in. I was so proud of the $106 I ended up with (pictures attached) until the cashier at the Safeway who logged in the Coinstar suggested that $106 is nothing for six years. He even suggested someone was dipping their mitts into my growler, sneaking out dimes while I wasn’t looking. I explained the quarters thing to him, but deep down I was hurt… I grew this change with the remnants of Subway visits with Mike and Christian and by paying $7.85 for a beer across the street in the Marina… No matter, this $106 will buy a good dinner in Portland or a night of beer flights in Seattle or a trip to Grouse Mountain in bloody British Columbia (thank you, Roger), and I always had enough quarters to do a load.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 11; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0669s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb