-18 degrees


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
February 28th 2015
Published: March 17th 2015
Edit Blog Post

MINUS EIGHTEEN DEGREES



Boston, MA.







My trip to Boston will be and unforgettable friendship journey, full of memories that I love to recall and to tell. The reason I went to Boston was because of U.N club. 13 students from U.N club were invited to participate and solve conflicts through diplomacy in 2015 Harvard Model United Nations. Boston is a colonial city located on the eastern Massachusetts coast, at the mouth of the Charles River which separates Boston from Cambridge. After 6 hours of flight, we arrived to Boston at 11:00 p.m. with a temperature of minus six degrees. Boston held the most amazing and horrible surprise for us, snow. The coldest white had fell, surrounding all the feet of those behind. That night I felt excited because it was the first time I saw snow.



Every day we had to wake up early and get ready for the day. We stayed at Sheraton Hotel which was next to a mall. The first day we were supposed to visit famous Fenway Park, but, because of the snow, we had to change our plans and stay in the Hotel.



HMUN took place at Sheraton Hotel. This U.N. simulation was very different from the ones I knew. I met people from all around the world, China, Italy, France, United Kingdom, Peru, Colombia, Pakistan, India and even people from New Zealand. The experience was fun and cultural. I heard and observed the different participants and wondered how it would be like to be from another culture and their traditions. Even though it was hard to communicate with people who doesn’t speak the same language, I tried to get along with them and tried to share experiences with them.



We visited Harvard Square, and it was exactly how I imagined. Harvard Square is a large triangular area near the center of Cambridge. The streets of Harvard Square are overrun with Au Bon Pains and Gaps, and special bookstores, but once you walk inside the gates of the world's most storied university, it's easy to tune out all the noise and forget everything but your own desire to one day get accepted in that university. We walked around the campus through a cold white blanket that covered our boots, and popped into some buildings and memorials, such as John Harvard’s statue, to get some perspective on the school’s history.



The Museum of Fine Arts was one of my favorite places of the trip and the largest museum I have ever been. If some day you go to Boston, you should never miss this great experience at the museum. The museum was had three floors, had the smell of an old house and was divided by sections such as America, Egypt, Contemporary, Europe, etc. My favorite section was the Contemporary art followed by Europe. When I saw Contemporary art I felt very curious since I wanted to know why and how the artists made the paintings and what emotions they were trying to transmit. The Europe section made feel like I was in another century. Impressionism paintings were my favorite since you can appreciate them with different perspectives and they are very detailed.



One of the best experiences was walking all Newbury Street during a snow storm. Newbury Street is one of the main and most beautiful streets from Boston. The houses are built from red brick, the trees are lined and traditional lamp posts are on the sidewalk. Minus eighteen degrees was the temperature, I have never felt that much cold in my life. My nose and cheeks were red as an apple, I could barely feel my feet and breathed cold air. The snow flew violently through the air like a group of fighting pigeons as my feet sank in the snow. In that moment, the only thought I had in my mind was how much I wanted to be in bed drinking a coffee and how much I wanted to stay and live in Boston. The snow tasted like a flavorless ice-cream, it felt cold and wet.



Even though this trip had some draw backs, I wouldn’t change anything from it. The cold was worth it!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



Tot: 0.13s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0316s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb