Interview and Acceptance Disney English!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
October 29th 2013
Published: October 29th 2013
Edit Blog Post

I have started this blog for a few reasons, to keep in touch with people when I move to the other side of the world, to help me remember some of the great experiences that I have in China, and to help others who are considering joining the Disney English cast in China.

I have been offered a position to teach for Disney English in Chengdu, China. I first came across this opportunity while working for Disney World Parks and Resorts in Florida on a cast member website called The Hub. They talked about moving to China to teach English to small children. Even then I was interested but I was working three jobs and didn't really have time to think about moving to China, nor was I really interested.

Fast forward three years I found my self unemployed and looking for a job. I was applying to at least one job a day with my cousin, when I came back across Disney English. To me it was a long shot, and I wasn't really sure I could move to Asia. My cousin had lived in Asia for a year but during that year I was a little afraid of Asia and did not go visit her. But, I filled out the online application.

Within hours I heard back from Disney English in an email. You are invited to conduct a web based interview basically a personality test that I took before my Disney College Program. Just hours after that I was scheduled for a Skype interview and on my way to a new adventure. During my Skype interview my interviewer talked about a placement that she would like me to look into and that I would really need to make up my mind quickly because the Visa deadline was fast approaching. She told me about a small city in China called Chengdu, it has around 18 million people she told me. My hometown has less than 1 million people I guess we really do live on a farm.

There were some hick-ups in my hiring process through Disney English. Having previous experience with Disney was great, except I had some things that did not get turned in, when I was in Florida? So, I had to make up for those items and get everything settled with Disney World before this transition. Although this was a major hoop that I had to jump through it was nice because it gave me extra time to really make a clear and good decision to move to China.

When I finally got a message on Skype that my recruiter was ready to make me an offer I had a good idea of what I wanted to do. If she offered me X then I would accept, if not I would stay in Nebraska and keep looking for work.

She offered exactly what I was looking for and I was given a start date of November 21st which was 2 months and 4 days away!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.129s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0439s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb