Another box is ticked


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
April 20th 2013
Published: April 20th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Making plans.
Even the best laid plans ahve a tendency to be changed or morphed into something else.
I was going to go to Africa, get on one of those buses where you travel through various countries, a little bit on the rough.
Cape Town to Nairobi.
Or I was going on a motorbike trip through western South Africa and up into Namibia.
Or something.
This something turned out to be buying a bike in Calfifornia and hopefully driving all the way to Argentina, not in one go but maybe in two or three.
Hanging out on the Adventure Bike Rider forum led me to buying a bike through an inmate, first it was going to be a heap and i was oly going to go to Mexico.
In the end I bought a bike KTM for double my budget, a bike that I have yet to see.
A fistful of dollars and maybe I've just bought nothing, in Dog we trust!
Well not really, but in a fellow human who said that his reputation was more worth that this princely sum, a deal clinching statement for me.
This was a long time ago, january I think and I hate to make long time plans and everything was months ahead.
Now it's not now I've landed in California and taken myself to the Tuckers residence where my bike is.
And it was my splendid, new to me, KTM!
After a long cold winter in Sweden I am now in Sunny California embarking on a major advenure.
In the end just before leaving time went with warp speed and I really didn't finsish what I tought i would have time to do.
Not that I was going to buy stuff to take with me, motorcycle gear is cheaper in the US than In Sweden.
No, life thing and work things just eat up your days until it's time to go.
Now I'll forget work and concentrate on life and try to have as much fun that's legally possible. I might speed now and then, a thing that seems to be a terrible crime. this in a country where you can buy and carry fire arms to your hearts delight.
Well this is not a political thread so nore comments about this especially if they don't catch me speeding.
California is nice and warm, very little snow here.
I'll stay a couple of days at the Tucker's residence before I take off for trails unknown, the included map shows my planned itinerary that problay will change as events warrant.
Jet lag is boring, you feel like a million dollars when everybody else is asleep and like death warmed over when it'äs time to play.
The Tuckers, Colleen and James, who heleped me buy the bike also rent out rooms and that's where I'm stay now.
The house is an old farmhouse in Claremont outside LA, soon I'm getting up and I'll shop for som motorbike related stuff and some breakfast as well. Aero plane food is not very sustaining.
Photos will come in the next installment

Advertisement



Tot: 0.324s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0598s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb