Gear - Electronics / Toiletries / Unnecessary Stuff


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
March 12th 2011
Published: March 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Netbook: Macbook Air 11" Since I will not be bringing a cell phone and most places have internet, I decided to risk it and bring a netbook. The thing truly weighs next to nothing. I also got Skype and a headset

Ipod and headphones

Flashlights: I have a Petzl headlamp that has a low light setting, high beam setting, and a red strobe light setting.

Waterproof bag: This can protect my camera from sand and water. I think I might still buy another one though just in case

Camera Extender: One of the down sides of traveling by yourself is that you can't ever really trust a stranger to take your picture without running off with your camera. So I bought a XShot camera extender that easily attaches to your camera and you hold the other end and extend it out (think a giant stick). I know I will look stupid using it some places but when you see my surprise item I'm bringing, nobody will be looking at the camera extender.

Alarm clock: I have a small traveler's alarm clock to get me up for those early morning trains and flights

Compass: Cheap compass that I will attach to my daypack to get my bearings in the cities

Swiss army knife: The small keychain one


Clothesline: I bough a traveler's clothesline that is braided so you don't need clothespins

Sink stopper: A big rubber circle to put over the drain of sinks to do laundry (I already excepted that I will be the smelly kid)

Tide's single use laundry packets

Toothbrush and case, floss, toothpaste

Shaving: Some razors and concentrate shaving cream. I just want enough to get me started but I will buy disposable ones along the way

Multi-purpose soap: Dr. Bronner's Magic Soaps can be used as shower soap, shampoo, laundry, shaving, etc..

Black magic marker which I wrapped in stripes of duct tape (duct tape can be used for thousands of things, I use duct tape as band-aids to begin with, and you never know when you need duct tape)

Condoms - See fear #1 from the other gear listing

Chapstick: It's small and if you need it and don't have it, it's a bitch


Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb