Pre-Travel Jitters


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
January 20th 2011
Published: January 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

As you may or may not know, I've been having problems getting my visa and passport in from the Embassy of Ghana in DC. I was supposed to leave today, but had to push my flights back to Friday. This means that tomorrow, I'm supposed to head to Houston.

Fortunately, or unfortunately, depending upon your perspective, the USPS's online track and confirm pages show no sign of its having entered the mail stream. Bad: pushing back flights AGAIN, paying more money, possibly missing orientation and registration at the U of G. Good: more time to pack and spend time with family and friends

Alas, I've gotten to the stage of pre-departure in which I realize how close departure is, how little preparation I've done, how much I love the comforts of home, friends and family and HOW CRAZY IT IS THAT I'M GOING TO A FOREIGN CONTINENT FOR A THIRD OF A YEAR BY MYSELF!

Yep. Internally I keep listing reasons why this is crazy/not a good idea. Of course, I'm not going to drop out. That's out of the question. We've paid too much money for this, and LSU's semester has already started. lol. Really, I know that there are great reasons why I wanted to go, but right now I'm kind of freaking out. It's hard to remember those reasons.

I remember feeling this way, or similarly, as I waited in line to board my flight to Angers, France when I was 17. I was fine until I got in line; then, a few tears escaped me as I realized that for the first time in my life I was going to another country, and that I was traveling alone. (This is a different story.) I also remember feeling a bit disgruntled before my trip to Costa Rica. It was disrupting to my daily life. Yet, both trips were completely worth it.

Well, I'm off to check the Postal Service's site one more time, and then make a partial list of things that need to be accomplished before 4 pm tomorrow. Scary stuff. :P (It's a long list.)

Advertisement



20th January 2011

Good Luck!
Best of luck on your adventures abroad! We will miss you!

Tot: 0.127s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb