Stretching the Dollars


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
December 13th 2010
Published: December 13th 2010
Edit Blog Post

It's no secret that baby boomers, of which I am, are the largest demographic traveling nowadays. Not only do they believe travel is a necessity, rather than a luxury, they have the most disposable income. As a rule, boomers prefer to travel in style by staying at higher end hotels. However, last year, msnbc.com published an article about how baby boomers are having to curb their free-spending habits. I know I certainly am having to be more cautious about how my travel dollars are spent.

Accommodations probably account for the largest portion of any travel budget. While I'm not one for "roughing" it (I do require a clean bed and a real toilet), I can easily give up ambiance, a fitness room and room service in favor of a good location at a reasonable price.

Earlier this year, I booked a room at Days Inn on Meeting Street in Charleston. I was skeptical because of the horror stories I had heard about "economy" chains. But, the price was right and the location was perfect, just 1/2 block from the marketplace. And, I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised. The room had every amenity I needed, a wonderfully comfortable bed, coffee maker, microwave, mini fridge, iron/ironing board, hair dryer... even some nice travel-sized toiletries. I was able to walk to all the points of interest and was surrounded by great restaurants. I saved enough that I was able to take an additional trip this year. Yeah, I can give up luxury for more vacation any time!

If you're ever in Charleston, and don't mind having your hotel room open to the outside, I highly recommend Days Inn.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0357s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb