A Days End


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
September 8th 2009
Published: September 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Lets Go POP!Lets Go POP!Lets Go POP!

Too cute to say no to.
It's 2:10am Tuesday,
As you can see I am very much like my road name Midnight Rider. I don't sleep much and when I do it's not very soundly. 😊
Well I got some more things for the trip and I am now all set with some sites for watching the fall foliage in New Hampshire. I have not forgotten my promise to post some pics of my past trips to New Hampshire. I will have to go to my older desk top and start her up and transfer them from that hard drive to my new external hard a western digital 1T for $109.00...very good price!

Well another holiday has come and gone. I hope all that are reading this early morning had a good and relaxing time with family and friends. Me I stayed to myself. I will have to work on that. I guess we can learn a little more about me in this log. Well first the kitty you have seen in the first posting is Mr. Ferguson. He's 3years old this month so I will have to bake him a 9 lives tuna melt on rhye lol. I am proud to say his a very good kitty, I also have another one she's black and her name is Jessica. She's very very sweet but very shy and sadly Ferguson wants to play and he plays to rough for her so she is always in hiding for most of the day. But when he's out hunting or pretending to hunt she comes out and sits in the same room with me and snoozes..her way of be social lol.
I will try to get a few pics of her up soon. She's harder to get a pic of. Well I got new tires put on the truck today so we'll have a much better ride. The old ones were wearing bad and one of them felt like a basket ball bouncing when driving 65mph. So today I took the truck out for a nice ride down the cost and put "the Beast" on cruise and enjoyed the setting sun. Both the sight and ride was very nice. I parked out on the skyway bridge and watched the last of the golden red rays melting into the gulf. I love winter in Florida not because of the weather..which is ten times better than in the summer..but because you get much better sun sets far as color.

I was on Costco's looking at what I was going to pack for the trip and I was blown away they now have trees, lights, and decorations for CHRISTMAS! Good Lord!.. lets take a breath! it was bad enough when it was OCT but SEPT! lets give it a rest. And there was not a deal in the lot I must add 😊

Well I have decided that I will be coming back a different route. I will be going down the Appalachian trail...and the blue ridge skyway. Growing up in VA I lived near the foot hills of the Blue Ridge so it will be a nice home coming. The fall foliage wont be as near as colorful as it's much more south of New Hampshire but it would still be quiet a sight to see. A wonderful ride that gives you pride and wonder like much of our Great Country does. I hope to be able to see a lot more of it starting with this trip. I'll be living full time by Christmas I fear in a 5th wheel or TT. I am losing the house and there is nothing I can do. So if I am going to lose the home of my last 20 years I might as well see the country that I wont be able to see later down the road most likely.
So once the switch has been made I will be me and two kitty's and maybe one more. I like to rescue one more animal. Maybe a little dog if possible. I will be working for a few months where ever I end up so with my many trades and training I should be able find work hopefully.

If there is anyone here reading that has ideas that I should go visit please feel free to write and such. I love to hear other peoples ideas. I rented the movie out in the wilderness. I think I might like to go to Slab City and maybe to Alaska ..not where the kid went. I kind of feel that place should be left alone. But people are going there all the time and writing messages all over the bus I read. I don't know...just to me it should be a place of respect. I felt sorry for the kid, he had it good but was dealing with more than the movie truly shared. The family was much more messed up than shown in the movie, and sadly from the movie now...I don't know if it was the case in real life..now that were going on 18years since the kid died in the bus.

But he should of read many more books about Alaska. Funny thing we are the same age if he had lived he be in his early 40s now. Weird I just tossed out all my 91 and 92 Alaska material...back then you had to write to all the different little towns and villages if you wanted any information. Internet was not open to the public yet or know by many in the public..man what the Internet has changed in our lives. But If the kid had done more research like I did back then, he would of read some much more insight than what he got from the hunter charter in the movie talking about the kill and flies and the meat going bad.
And he should of had the right gun for the right hunt. And of course he should of packed plenty of food for when you can't find things to hunt. That was the biggy. Millions of people starve to death in Asia, that all they eat is rice. But the scene with the moose and giving up just because the meat was "starting to rot" did not mean the meat was not worth cooking still. Smoking is hard and in Alaska you have to do that up off the ground. Again that is where if he had read the books I got out of the library he would of learned you got to smoke the meat a long long time, and the smoke house has got to be off the ground at least 15 feet so that the bears can't get to it..and of course you got to have all the "wood" ready and seasoned..meaning dried out for a year or more. So he should of just cooked the meat and then jerked it and let it mold and then you can hang it on strings like the old trappers did. That's what makes those very expensive steaks taste so good..that aging process..well that's just a fancy word for letting it be moldy and then six or nine months later you take it down from it's hanging place and trim all the mold off and you got a flavorful piece of meat! Now the down side is you lose about 40% of your original meat, but again this is about survival in the wild. And with no salt and no fridge he was limited. If nothing else he could of tried..it be hard work but he could of dug into the permafrost and made a cold storage ..but again wild animals and bears ...it's why they say everything in Alaska is different from the lower 48..But I give the guy a strong pat on the back. He went out and did some pretty interesting things. I think he was "clueless" in some of them..but he was well intention and he didn't hurt anybody with his adventure. But of course his family when he misjudged the Alaska part of his adventure.

I will say on a personal note I have always been a big fan of Hal Holbrooke and his small 10 min part in the movie was very powerful. I was glad learn that, because I had no clue he had been nominated..but I was glad to hear he got an Oscar nod for his performance. He's a great Charter Actor and a very good stage Actor. The part where he wants to adopt the kid..I think that was pretty close to how that may have happen with the tears just about ready to over flow at the thought of this kid leaving his life and the fear that the kid wouldn't make it and he never see him again. Very moving and heart breaking.
The movie as a whole...was not as good as it could of been. Hard to say if it was the script or actors or what. It's one of those movies where it has moments...and there's just enough of them to get you by the dry spells. It's a desert with a few oasis that keep you going. hmmm not bad. 😊

But I hope the family got there act together after losing there son and such. That they moved down a path of hope and freedom from the past. I know the past can be hard to live with and I do believe that people can change..but they have to want to change. I think that's the hardest part for women and men when they meet and fall in love. That little 25% that drives you crazy ..that you try to change the person from doing, or to do..it wont happen. At least not with real merit. The person has got to want to change, and then and only then. Other wise we must learn that this is part of this person habit. And as long as they try to work on it..far as ..hmmm smoking or I don't know can be a million things people could say..but long as they work at it to, and you work on the things you might or might not do that they want you to work on..then you got a good life together. And don't worry about the small stuff. I have always listen to the elders on marriage. And the 40 plus year marriages there is compromise and "Respect" of each other. It sounds so simple when you read this..but it seems with humans there is so much ego and garbage that it takes till your more than half done with your life to not only know it..but own it and live it. I guess that's why some faiths say you can ask for forgiveness with the very last breaths of your life and be welcome into haven. Hard for the ones that have been working on that for all there life to deal with that one, but it could be true. You got me on that one folks.

Well as usual we have differed into so many areas and it's time for me to call it a night though I am not really ready. but I need to call it a night and try to get a few hours in..it's 5:14...now not all of my writing has been done in these three hours...I did take a few breaks and think about things or do a little research. lol.
But I should put this to be just as I should myself.
I hope these little reads are entertaining and maybe a little bits of wisdom...or hell how to cook a better steak..lol...up to you what you take with it. But I hope with that cup of coffee or hot tea..you got a chuckle or a smile or at least something more insightful than trying to figure out how to scroll through the maze on the back of the morning cereal box.
Have a good day today. You'll be in my thoughts.
This is Midnight Rider saying Good Night...


Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb