All good things must end (almost)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
August 6th 2009
Published: August 6th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The last few days in New Zealand were a mixture of busy and relaxing moments. We saw some awesome and colorful geothermal areas in Rotorua. For me, the smell was not so bad. For others, they were ready to regurgitate. We met up with some friends in Rotorua. The Waitapu Thermal Wonderland is quite the area to hike around - the views are lovely. Just outside of that area are these very cool looking mud pools. They burp and gurgle as they spew mud. Really fun to watch and listen to them do their thing. In the "wonderland", the Champagne pool is well known due to its vibrant orange color. We also saw some amazing greens (think ectoplasm) and yellows. That evening we went to the Tamaki Maori hangi. Hangi is basically a traditional dinner. This is also a celebration and recognition of the Maori culture. The group is welcomed in the traditional manner. Then, we have the opportunity to wander and learn about a traditional village. After the performance of several dances, including the haka, it is time to eat. It was a bit like Thanksgiving dinner, and dessert included pavlova (which I thought was yummy!). It was a good time.

Melissa and I had a nice time in Auckland. I think we were both ready to go home because we didn't go out of our way to do anything major. A ferry out to Devonport, walking around the city, reading at a neighborhood cafe...and then it was time to go to the airport. Flight was fine; I do like Air New Zealand.

I spent a few days in California to visit. It's always good to see the relatives and friends in that area. I was coming from winter weather, so the 100 degrees that it hit was a shock to my system. My big summer trip is over. It was fabulous and I'd love to visit all three countries again. I have heaps to do before I leave for NY tomorrow. Let the summer holiday continue!

Advertisement



6th August 2009

Welcome back to the U.S.! Glad you're back safe and sound!
7th August 2009

WAY TO GO, MARINA!!!!
Wooowwww, Marina!!! I loved reading about all your adventures!!! Way to go - you travelled so far, it's awesome!!! I can't wait to view your photos!!!! Welcome back to the U.S.A.!!! -Mags
7th August 2009

WAY TO GO, MARINA!!!!
Wooowwww, Marina!!! I loved reading about all your adventures!!! Way to go - you travelled so far, it's awesome!!! I can't wait to view your photos!!!! Welcome back to the U.S.A.!!! -Mags

Tot: 0.159s; Tpl: 0.028s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0971s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1022.7kb