Pampered pigs and big breasted mannequins


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
April 1st 2009
Published: April 30th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Sorry for my extended absence on the blog front but I have been skipping continents the last few weeks in a frenzied whirlwind of activity. I have just now paused for breath and am now able to provide an account of where in the world I have been and what I have been doing since my last update…….so here goes.



Bright Lights Big City
Could there be any more disparate continents so closely linked together?

My itinerary was to make my way from New York to Miami to pick up my next flight for Ecuador and the start of my tour of South America. I intended to use the States as a means of regrouping, reorganising myself in preparation for my next trip and of course, to ‘SHOP‘!

Hence why the rest of this blog is so short, for I wouldn’t want to subject anyone to the torture of hearing what I bought….unless you want to know of course!

In New York - I walked, walked & walked some more. I spent my time with cousins whom I hadn’t seen in over 20 years, talking as if it was only last week that
we hadn’t seen each other. I spent time with new friends I met on my trip to Guatemala - enjoying the New York night scene on the Lower East side. I attended my first ever UN event - a commemoration of the Rwanda Genocide and got my first glimpse of the UN Secretary of State & Susan Rice. I spent time hunting for my favourite food spots from Magnolia’s Bakery, Zabar’s Deli to the $2 dumpling shop in a corner alley of China Town - just to wander around looking at all the food or devour what I could get my hands on.

In Washington - I fought the Spring crowds to queue for hours to get around the Museums, The Capitol Building & The Library of Congress. I’d forgotten what it was like to travel during the peak season and soon realised that trying to get a glimpse of the Hope diamond whilst standing 10 deep full of people, only to do it all over again for the next display soon starts to loose it’s appeal. I spent Easter with family friends - being stuffed with a homemade roast and all the trimmings & finished with homemade red velvet cupcakes. I spent my time walking, mouth agape, camera in hand, taking photos of sights I’d only seen in the movies.

In Florida - I distressed myself about the weight of my backpack, arguing with myself as to what I could possibly throw out to lighten the load in preparation for my trip. Sadly, the answer was a big fat nothing with the trade off that I would soon start to throw out all my used clothing as my trip continued (What I intend to do with my upcoming souvenir purchases I have yet to answer!). I spent time with my family on the beaches of Miami - And what glorious beaches they were….Nothing but a strip of pure soft white sand, no waves and crystal clear water. Lastly - I walked the strip of Ocean Drive, South Beach - full of pampered pooches, walking Barbie & Ken dolls and expensive cars. My favourite of all - were the shop mannequins, who also got the Miami treatment, with their extra large appendages for both male & female versions…Mmmm!!! Only in Miami.





Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement

Pet Pigs....Pet Pigs....
Pet Pigs....

Only in New York!
The White HouseThe White House
The White House

Washington
Miami Mannequins.Miami Mannequins.
Miami Mannequins.

Only in Miami!!


5th May 2009

kristaayn mah dear
wow...wish i was there with you..an escape from this life.... Party in the city where the heat is on All night on the beach till the break of dawn Welcome to miami Buenvenidos a miami i miss you ei
28th May 2009

Shopaholism run in the blood........
I never knew either. hahahaha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 69; dbt: 0.1195s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb