Treat 'Em Right


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
March 16th 2009
Published: March 17th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


FlorenceFlorenceFlorence

All dressed up for the show!
I was tired on Saturday night, and we didn’t have internet yesterday. But we were at a Hyatt 😉 That’s how you know you’re at a really nice hotel- they make you pay for wireless (and no wired is available.) Yesterday also, someone paid for us to go to the children’s museum and it was all sorts of fun.

We got up super early and drove today. Like last time we drove in the morning, we showed up and had no crew. If you’d like to know what today was like, read my entry from April 16, 2008 entitled “What’s so Super about 8?” This day was remarkably similar to that one, except we had no crew.

I went on a walk to cool down once focus was done- shortly before 4 (usually focus is done by 1 or shortly after lunch.) Then, during the show, as well as during my walk, I had a thought running through my head, which I will now share with you.

I’ve seen a lot on tour (and in real life too, but it didn’t hit me until tour), both inside and outside this organization, how so often the mentality of people is “let’s see how little we can get away with.” People seem to look for the least they can give, least flexible they can be, smallest amount of effort. It made me think, when I am in a position of leadership and/or when I’m in a situation where me and mine are serving another group (such as when there are locals working with a road crew), I want to go above and beyond. I want our mentality to be one of, “How can we serve them best? What more can we do? Let’s give them more than they are expecting.” What does that look like? How does one do that? How do I do this for people who I am serving and for people who I am being served by? What about for those I’m working with, those who I am leading?

There seems to be this mentality of scarcity around; I’m going to take care of me, and if I’m really selfless, I’ll take care of a few select people as well- but only if they take care of me! We do it with money, with time, with who we do favors for, with anything else we have.
Funny Face!Funny Face!Funny Face!

Claudio, Joel, Susan, me, Fiona (photograph by Mirembe)
I have to wonder how different the world would be if we started thinking of things backwards?


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

Superhero Masks!Superhero Masks!
Superhero Masks!

Fiona couldn't quite get this down... and I think Joel took the picture.
NewscastersNewscasters
Newscasters

Edgar, Joshua B, Claudio, Michael
Fear and HopeFear and Hope
Fear and Hope

Funny how often they come so close to each other...


Tot: 0.275s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 14; qc: 65; dbt: 0.1456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb