3 wishes + 42= my next big move


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
January 19th 2009
Published: January 19th 2009
Edit Blog Post

As the day of my departure for korea gets closer and closer, it is hard not to look back and ask how did i arrive at this point. Many factors had arisen throughout my life that helped me conclude that i need to travel the world. some key reasons though are simply this:
I have a BA in anthropology so it is something that i was naturally interested in
I had friends who have taught abroad so it tickled my mind and allowed it to wander
I lived in NJ for way to long

I have explained all the above reasons before in another blog (on a different website) in a more complex and drawn out fashion. But, something i didn't explain was the epiphany that i had before i really really decided that i wanted to teach in south korea for at least a year. The story is simple and it starts with a tale about Earth being destroyed in order to build an intergalactic highway bypass. For those of you that do not know it, it is the hitchhikers guide to the galaxy. I had read the book along with the sequels a couple times. The revelation came to me one day when i was thinking about this book. One afternoon, daydreaming in my bed, a thought came to me what i would do if i had 3 wishes. At this point in my life i had been really worried about what i should be doing with my life. I came up with theses 3 wishes.

1. I wished I could own The Heart of Gold (in the book it pretty much one of the most high tech space ships and allows you to go anywhere. It doesnt necessarily take you to the places you wanna go all the time but the main point is you can travel anywhere in the universe)

2. I could live forever (just so i could make sure i could see the whole universe before i died)

3. A wish to be named later.

Then this thought occurred to me. Ok realistically i am never going to get three wishes and i will never get to see the universe but seeing the WORLD.... that is something i could see myself doing. It could be a good second place and i wouldn't even need a genie. Thoughts of friends who traveled to various locations teaching came to me like a bolt of lighten and i began the long process of applying to teach abroad. It is def nice to see it winding down.

While writing this though a few thoughts occurred to me.

It sucks i will most likely never find a genie
Which towel should i bring with me from home
Is the song 42 by coldplay a reference to hitchhikers guide
Is coldplay really that good... I mean there only good album is a Blood Rush to the Head... The rest sounds like they are trying to be a U2/Radiohead cover band but are not playing the songs properly.

42 by the way is the answer to life, the universe, and everything according to the hitchhikers guide to the galaxy

Advertisement



Tot: 0.154s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.056s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb