Day dreaming in New York


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
December 18th 2008
Published: December 19th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello once again and for the very last time on here, from a place I have been excited about coming to for weeks. I am in the city that never sleeps, aka New York.

It is so good to be back here - I have been looking forward to seeing Anna and Dai for so long now, and as they have chosen such an amazing place to live, it means I get to visit here again 😊 Even after three hours of sleep the previous night, Nic and I wondered the streets of New York yesterday with animated eyes and curious expression. Also, being here when Christmas is approaching means that lights are shining everywhere, adding a little extra magic to the place and warming my cockles right up for the festive season.

On arrival yesterday, after a nap to cure our 'post night flight syndrome', we took a walk to Times Square, there was not much time for much else as Anna had very kindly booked us tickets to see Oasis at Madison Square - what a welcome! After an entertaining few hours of good quality music and singing along, we made for a bar. Somehow, for some reason, (I blame Dai!!!!!!!) we continued to drink at that bar and one other until what was apparently 4am this morning. We also were fortunate enough to stumble across a GENUINE KEITH. After telling him he has the best name ever created in this universe, he hung out with us for a while. Sadly he turned out to be something of a pratt, but he will always be remembered because he was called KEITH. Needless to say, I feel rather questionable and ill today. PSD has been hitting hard in places, but not lasting too long, as after all, I am in New York.

It is lovely to see Anna and Dai, and their new apartment is fantastic. My view from the window right now consists of The Empire State Building and in the distance the beautiful Chrysler Building. I am green with envy and am wondering if I were to hide in the cupboard instead of coming home if they would notice?! I can hear the horns, the traffic and the busy peoples' footsteps on the ground as they go about their busy Manhattan days. This city is vibrant, alive and bursting with opportunity, this city blows me away.

This is the final section of our trip, our last country and last city. Before this, we bid New Zealand farewell and visited two more areas of the world, Fiji and Rarotonga - The Cook Islands. Having previously tried to cancel our tickets to these places in order to stay longer in NZ (only to be told we'd be charged tax with no refund - cheek!), I actually felt glad of a few days in each - just in order to relax after the hustle and bustle that was NZ. Arriving onto Bounty Island, Fiji - a place that you can walk around in 25 minutes flat and it's only exit is by boat or a lengthy swim, I was delighted that all I could do was hire a snorkel, take a long swim or simply indulge in some guilt-free horizontal time in the sun. Bliss. We had a beautiful and warm welcome as our boat pulled up to to the jetty, the manager of our resort brought along his guitar and sang to our boat - I could flatter myself and think that it was just because Nic and me were arriving, but I think it is a standard welcome and farewell in Fiji - how lovely, I wish we did more things like that in our country.

The surroundings certainly didn't disappoint - clear aqua waters, through which many varying marine life could be seen, to name a few; parrot fish, flute fish, squid and rays. The islands are rich in greenery and are mountainous which made for very pretty scenery.
Our time in here was rather much based on routine - my body seemed to get in tune very quickly with an all inclusive package - timed breakfasts, lunches and dinners meant almost knowing when each meal would fall before even looking at my watch and did I eat well. The food really was good and plentiful and we certainly sapped up island living, having regular intakes of fresh fruit and fish (not together!)

Aside from daily snorkeling, beautiful scenery and eating far too much (Davina's Kick boxing is calling on my return!!) there is little else to report from our time there. We witnessed a very pretty, peaceful sunset from the beach - Nicola was even genius enough to catch a sunrise and sunset all on the same day - I wasn't that impressive though - maybe another time. It was a great way to rest after the adventure that was New Zealand and I think it's fair to say that I totally switched off and indulged in the simplicity of island living.

I was feeling happy to go and do more of the same in the Cook Islands, where we were to spend our last five days before flying into the US - we went to Rarotonga - the main island, suspecting it would be very similar to Fiji - deserted island feeling, turquoise waters and smooth sand.

I have to admit I was slightly disappointed on arrival to the Cooks. The blue waters I had visualised in my mind were somewhat rocky and a little more like a stagnant pond in places. The beach cafes and cute bars / restaurants were very spread out, seeming few and far between.
However, as the days went by and we explored more beaches, talked to many friendly locals, my fondness for the island grew far more and the sun shone on us daily as we made the most of our final days of warm weather. What really made my trip to this island in the middle of nowhere, were the breath-taking sunsets. I think the sun should rise five times daily - once isn't enough - but then perhaps I'd take the beauty for granted. The skies of the South Pacific filled every evening with rich shades of pink and purple - reflecting these same colours on to the waters beneath them. The water sparkled as the sun transformed the sky from blue to yellow to red purple then pink before eventually replacing the colour to a navy blue night sky, filled to the brim with stars and complete with a shiny, full moon. An advantage to the island's spread out set up meant that we got in rather a lot of walking. As we walked to restaurants under the night sky, guided by the moon and stars, enjoying the sight and sound of the waves crashing. Nic was heart broken that the waves never made it to her toes - the water leading to the beach was that of lagoon water and the waves crashed hundreds of metres before in the middle of the water - great large waves that never quiet made it to the shore line. Mysterious.

Our island days became fewer and before long we were at Rarotonga airport awaiting our NZ14 connection to Los Angeles - a brief stop over before hitting the Big Apple. Having heard mixed reviews of LA, I wasn't sure what to expect, nor did I have long to be convinced either positively or negatively. Jet lag and tiredness didn't allow much time to explore and we pretty much slept most of the time we spent there. However, what I did see proved to me that the city wasn't too bad after all - maybe not somewhere I'd choose to live but not somewhere I regret visiting. Perhaps my positivity derives from our warm welcome - slightly afraid of American Passport Control, we were most pleased when the guy on the desk not only looked online for bars that we could go to as he was meant to be dealing with our passports, but later bought us coffees when we bumped into him at the airport Starbucks. Score. Our freebees didn't end there, as we were given a free bus ride through the city by another charming young man. Clearly it pays to smile relentlessly and have a Welsh accent 😊

Alive and kicking, there was certainly lots going on and plenty to do, so I feel a little lame when I say that all I managed was a trip to the farmers market, a scoot around the shops and a walk along Hollywood Boulevard to the see the famous old sign.
In true tourist mode, I snapped the names of the stars along the pavement, hoping I might bump into them in person (well those who are still alive anyway) - no such luck - the only people who approached us were those who one might refer to as slightly unhinged.
After a few snaps of the sign, we hopped on a bus and caught our airport shuttle. Our check in was going well until we were selected for extra screening. This entailed rather an invasive bag and body check. It was far from pleasant having my items swabbed and examined as a lady proceeded to wave a machine around my body, feeling any areas it chose to bleep at (and believe me there were many, breasts included). They could have at least sent a tall, dark, handsome male to make the whole experience a bit nicer or at least more bareable.

I soon forgot the above as I sat on our plane to New York, thinking and getting very excited about being back, and it is here, still with that same level of animation that I sit and type.
With the mac ahead of me and vibrant Manhattan sparkling and bustling outside, I occasionally glance out of the window, at some moments enjoying pretending to myself that I am Carrie Bradshaw - writing as a profession, living in New York and basing my writing on reflection and experience. Living in New York of course is purely a daydream as is writing for a living or being anything like a ficticious movie / series star, but being here and at the back of three and a half months of adventure and discovery, I certainly do feel very reflective.

I was wondering when I started this blog earlier, how on earth one sums up three and a half months of travel. I have seen so much, done so much, laughed hysterically on a daily basis and even cried at some things too. I've experienced endless new things, revisited old places and old friends, seen endless beauty, met so many different characters from differing walks of life and I just can't put it all into words - there simply are not enough.
But an hour or so ago as Nic and I went to the roof top of this building, staring down at a city that makes anything feel possible, my travel conclusion hit me and at the risk of sounding naff or like a cliche, the feeling and attitude I experienced as I stood looking down at a city so exciting are ones I want to keep forever.

As I stood daydreaming about travel, music, laughter, love, romance and all things sweet, I just thought to myself that over the last few months and right at that moment and this one, I have felt, and still do feel ALIVE. The vibe in New York and indeed when I travel makes me want to grab life with both hands and ride it for all it is worth. I wish I could travel forever more, I dream of buying a camper van or flying to India and south America. But as I am turning twenty eight next month with no house or job to call my own, right now, I feel maybe the reality is that I just can't do it forever. (But I never say never - thought I had better just add that!)

I am freaked out at the thought of coming home and trying to find my feet again or discovering where my next chapter is to commence, I have ideas but NO answers. ZERO. But one thing is for sure, whatever I do, I want to keep my 'alive' feeling and promise myself I won't go to sleep again. Whether it's awaking to watch sunrise, running a (half) marathon, hiking or weekends away in European cities, life has so many challenges and opportunities and I want to embrace as many as I can. I think that pretty much sums up how I currently feel and puts my trip into some sort of context for me.

So the end has come, I have had the most amazing time, have seen and so much and at the end of such a memorable three and a half months, all that remains to do is to say a HUGE thank you to everyone who has made it so damn enjoyable.... (please bare with me if it sounds appallingly cheesy or like an 'Audience with'.., if you can't be self indulgent on a travel blog when can you be?!)..........

Mackers and L' Drakeo - Malaysia was a SCREAM. I couldn't have asked for a better beginning to our trip than being away with three such close friends from my hometown. You were both such amazing company and Lillies RESORT and the mountain shall remain in my heart forever more.

Morgan, seeing you again was an absolute blast, as was reliving all our roomie days. I hope to see you again one day.

Pat and Marianne, it was great to catch up in Taman Tun and I hope to see you both again soon.

Lisa, meeting up in Melbourne even just briefly was so lovely and I hope you are continuing to settle back there.

Carolyn and Tracy- (sorry, Susan and VIV).. being reunited again with two such special friends and our Great Ocean Road trip will remain in my memory forever and sharing so much scenery, so many laughs and good times with you and Nic (sorry, Bec) was the best way I could have ever done this trip and I could not have asked for a better time. (Tracy thinking of you so much right now and hoping you and your family are doing okay, I shall call when I get home - much love to you guys) x

Steph, Toon and Wout, meeting and hanging out with you all for our short while as a unit of six was so much fun. Steph I hope the rest of your travels go amazingly.
Toon and Wout I will always think of you two when I think of the Milford Track, singing, (Give me the Green Light or One two three four five o clock rock!) talking about all sorts as we gazed at scenery and took silly photos. Thank you also to you both and Nic for carrying my things when I hurt my ribs, I hope you are both okay?😊

Anna and Dai, it's great seeing you again and being here with you, thanks so much for putting us up, making us so welcome and showing us a good time - I could not have asked for a more awesome first night here, even if the hang over really bites today.

People at home reading - I have really missed you and wished I could have shared so much of this with so many of you. However, hearing from you has put a smile on my face every time I have opened a new message. Thank you so much for staying in touch and I can't wait to see you.

Lastly my biggest thank yous go to Mum and Dad and you Miss Lovell (I hope you will read this one day!!)

Let me first say Ma and Pa, had you not have been so good to me, particularly in the last year and a half, I would not have been in a position to travel and see so much these last few months.
Thank you so much for letting me stay with you practically rent free and for being more like chilled room mates, putting up with noisy, drunken 5 am arrivals home, supporting my decisions and being nothing but caring and generous. I honestly loved living with you before I left and am looking forward to doing so again for a little while as of next Tuesday. (I promise not to stay so long this time though, don't worry - not too many 5am wake up calls!) Thanks for staying in touch so well and showing nothing but enthusiasm and interest in all I have been doing. I know I was sometimes crap at calling but I really missed you. You are gold and I send you HUGE HUGS and infinitive thank yous xxxx

Angel face Lovell - I wouldn't have had a fraction of the good time I have had if I had done it without you by my side. Your optimism, positivity, eye for beauty, good listening ear, excitement over things that some could let pass by without mention and just the beautiful person you are inside and out are all an inspiration to me and I have had the time of my life with you. I thank you from the bottom of my heart for being such a great travel buddy and amazing friend before and throughout our whole trip. I will always remember our good times, laughter and the regular question asked by so many - if we are sisters! I wish to keep our multiple sayings going for a long time to come and we'll have to have movie sundays as regular reunions! HUGE amounts of M.W.A.H baby, YOU ROCK. xxxxxx

Right I really am off now, I think I have out-done myself on writing pure cheese and It's time to go! Ready to enjoy four more days of NYC before I crash and land for the very last time (for a while anyway) on Tuesday.
Mum and Dad - shall we have a nice dinner on Wednesday evening? I can't wait to see you.
Girls, bring on a quiet few drinks (that's a QUIET FEW, not quite a few Miss Pugh!!) on Christmas Eve, I'll be there with bells on and Mack, I wish you were there too - but boxing day is top of the Christmas Itinerary and I can't wait to see you then.

So, it's bye bye travel and soon to be hello home and nothing remains unsaid except for; I. HAVE. HAD. A. BALL.

Many hugs and kisses and see you soon.
Lisa
xxxxxxx

PS - I CAN'T UPLOAD PHOTOS! GUTTED!!! - I guess I can always do one more blog for the road with pictures sometime soon. xxx












Advertisement



Tot: 0.179s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0474s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb