Journey from CA - CO (36 hours)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
December 14th 2008
Published: December 14th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I would recommend to anyone traveling across the states, if time allows, to use Greyhound. So far, I have traveled by coach, plane, train and automobile and Greyhound has been by far, the most enjoyable. First and foremost, because of the demographic it attracts. Over those 36 hours I spent time with Mexican families, ex-cons just out of prison, crazy people (standard), Chicago gangsters, old men heading home to families, young men heading away from home for the first time. And it's not like the UK where people sit as far away from you as possible and avoid eye contact, everyone who sat next to me proceeded to strike up a conversation as if they had known me all their life. I'm sure, during that one journey alone I listened to at least 4 life stories! Incredible. Traveling by bus also provides an opportunity to see how dramatically the scenery changes from state to state. I would fall asleep surrounded by the lush orange groves and rolling hills in California and a few hours later would awake to a barren, jagged desert. The most impressive scenery though was of course in Colorado, where towering snow tipped mountains littered with rich evergreens and browning aspen greet you on arrival.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.138s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0365s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb