San Francisco and Hawaii


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
October 18th 2008
Published: October 18th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0


Well, I have finally entered the world of blogs. Here are a few photos from my travels in the US - it's a slow process figuring out how this website works, and I'm on a coin-operated hostel internet connection, so I'll write properly soon!

L x

Hallo everyone! I have seen the comments on Facebook that my blog hasn't had quite enough writing to go with the photos - all I can say is that I have been WAY too busy to sit in front of a computer, all this travelling is very time consuming you know. Anyway, it is a holiday weekend in NZ, and in true UK style it has just started chucking it down with rain, so I have retreated to an internet cafe.
It feels like I have been away for months already, when it is in fact only 25 days. San Francisco seems like a long time ago. I only had 2 (jet-lagged) days there, but saw all the sights and generally ambled my way around the city. Hawaii was amazing, and if you ever find yourself crossing the Pacific you really should go there! I spent 2 days on Kaua'i, a beautiful and
Na PaliNa PaliNa Pali

Walking on the Kalalau trail
relatively untouristed island - mostly locals driving 4x4s with surfboards hanging out the back. Then onto the Big Island, which is just awesome. I stayed near the Volcanoes National Park for a few days, doing day hikes in the park - the volcano is still erupting, and lava is flowing into the ocean, you could see from miles way the steam rising as the lava enters the water. The island is full of contrasts, from harsh volcanic terrain and enormous lava flows to green valleys full of palm trees and giant bamboo, and small coffee farms on the mountain slopes. I wished I could have spent more time there, but probably my bank balance would have been looking a little sad if I had.
So, I have finally made it to NZ, and am slowly getting into the swing of the backpacker life. I have just put my last $2 coin into the machine, so I will sign off for now, but will be back later to update you with my NZ adventures so far, and get some more photos uploaded!



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

Waimea Canyon, Kaua'iWaimea Canyon, Kaua'i
Waimea Canyon, Kaua'i

A better view, without me in the way
Kalalau Valley, Kaua'iKalalau Valley, Kaua'i
Kalalau Valley, Kaua'i

First in the series - top places I have eaten my lunch :-)
In Hawaii Volcanoes NP, The Big IslandIn Hawaii Volcanoes NP, The Big Island
In Hawaii Volcanoes NP, The Big Island

next lunch stop - looking out over Halema'uma'u crater on Kilauea (active volcano)
Kilauea Iki CraterKilauea Iki Crater
Kilauea Iki Crater

Walking across lava in Hawaii Volcanoes NP
Kilauea Iki craterKilauea Iki crater
Kilauea Iki crater

Where I just walked (the Kilauea Iki crater trail), with Halema'uma'u crater smoking away just behind.....


18th October 2008

what do you mean with "top places i have eaten my lunch"!? ...what about the KB? :)
18th October 2008

It looks amazing! i'm so jealous! keep sending pics!
20th October 2008

Wow!
Hey you! Glad you're having a fab time - it looks amazing! So far this week, the most exciting place I've had my lunch is my desk! Rx
22nd October 2008

earthquake chaser
San Francisco, Hawaii, New Zealand. My bet on your next stop is Java, followed by Japan. M

Tot: 0.118s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0386s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb