prompt


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
August 2nd 2008
Published: August 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Prompt: Describe in vivid detail your ideal place to live. Use all 5 senses.


I knew when I saw it that it was the reason why I had lived with my parents for most of my life, saving money here and there for I-didn't-know until I saw it, nestled on a perfectly peaceful small town street, my new home.

My house sprawls on an acre of lush grass and a few shady trees; a concrete driveway reaches back to the large disconnected barn turned garage. The thing I like the most about the garage is that it is quite old and the loft had been converted to a small apartment with a bed, desk, nightstand and bathroom. I decided to work on the garage loft first so I could live there while I painted the main house. I left the floorboards the way they were, bought some muted green bedding, cleaned the windows, mopped the bathroom floor, arranged essential personal items in the medicine cabinet and stuck some artful decals on a few of the walls. The loft became very comfy and I was a bit sad to think I would have to move out soon.

The main house was built in a country style with a large wrap around porch.





I never have thought about what my dream house would be like until I got a prompt asking me to describe it in detail. Firstly, where would my house be? France? As much as I love Paris, I don't think the country French are as nice to Americans as Parisian French. Besides, I would not be as comfortable in France as I would in my own country. It is like going to a sleepover like when you were a kid, you have fun initially but when it comes time to sleep you always wish you were in you own comfy bed.

So I narrowed the country part down, now the hard part, where in this huge country would I like to live? I know I want to live in a small town which does not help my quest on account of there being hundreds of small towns in every state. I know I do not want to live in the hot southern states: Florida, Georgia, Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama, Texas, New Mexico, Arizona, California, Utah, Oklahoma, Arkansas, and South Carolina. Nor do I want to live in cold northern states such as Maine or Alaska. I want to experience all four seasons with a little more summer and a little less winter which takes out Vermont, New Hampshire, Connecticut and Rhode Island. Hawaii is also out because of the high temperature, hoards of tourists and I am not sure I would like living an island life all day everyday. Where does that leave me? I need some variety in my landscape and an abundance of water so Kansas, Idaho, Nevada, Nebraska, Wyoming, Iowa, and North and South Dakotas are out. I have heard a lot of bad things about New Jersey and until I actually go there (which is completely unlikely) and see what's so bad about it, I will cross it out from my list. I also do not want to live in states where there are large metropolis' in small areas so Deleware, Massachusetts, and Maryland are out. So what remains? Montana, Colorado, Missouri, Minnesota, Illinois, Wisconsin, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, North Carolina, Virginia, Tennesse, Kentucky, West Virginia, Pennsylvania, New York. I'm probably missing a few but those probably would not fit on my list then. I am very partial to Michigan, Wisconsin, and Illinois.

Since I have not had the infinite pleasure of traveling through Illinois and Michigan I cannot accurately name a town in which I would want to spend the rest of my life

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb