The Big Blur


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
March 10th 2008
Published: March 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Patriotic GlennPatriotic GlennPatriotic Glenn

Glenn at the hockey game.
The days after our trip to Fairbanks were a blur—fun, but still a blur. We had jumped into “get ready for a two-month road trip” mode. There were lots of errands and packing to be done. But, like I said, we still had fun….

On March 5th we went to an Anchorage Aces (ICE) Hockey Game with Brittana’s cousins. Glenn had a bit more respect for the sport after having tried skating just a week earlier. On a Wednesday night the arena was fairly empty so we busied ourselves with “one or two” at the game. Thanks for driving us home Mike 😊

The next evening we were invited to a lovely dinner at my Uncle Tom & Aunt Tina’s home. Wanting to give Glenn the most Alaskan home cooked experience possible, they made Bison Burgers & pan-fried salmon. Yup, it was that good that it must be mentioned in the blog! Glenn brought over some Tooheys Beer (imported from Australia…find it at Gold Rush Liquor), so it was a night of fun international trade. Thank you Aunt Tina for a very fun night with the family!

After shipping the car on Wednesday night, all that was remaining
"One or Two""One or Two""One or Two"

Glen & Mike enjoying a beer at the game.
was to fly to Seattle. We left early Friday morning. My mom & Makena picked us up from the airport; Makena lost a bet because I didn’t sit in the front seat and I didn’t choose to go to Red Robin. Later that night Glenn chauffeured Mom & I to back to the airport to pick up my dad. Glenn had to drive because Mom & I were too busy catching up over a glass or two of wine in the back seat. I missed my family.

After much family time, Glenn & I did a bit of sightseeing around Seattle on Monday. I took Glenn to the Seattle Space Needle (the Eiffel Tower of Seattle). Unfortunately, after actually going to the Eiffel tower Glenn wasn’t too impressed with the 601 ft viewing tower. Next stop was a visit to the Seattle Science Center, which I might add is primarily dedicated to entertaining kids. We soon learned that it was our type of museum. We require buttons, bubbles, magnets, sound effects & info flaps to keep us entertained. They had to kick us out of there at closing time.

In order to start the big trip tomorrow morning, we had to pick up the car at the Port of Tacoma. As it happens, the University of Puget Sound is also in Tacoma. We stopped at my old Uni for dinner at the campus’ pizza parlor—a favorite hang out spot for students, including myself. Only ten months after I graduated I feel so old going back there. Freshmen students look so young, the music is too loud, and the food is greasy. Well, that chapter of my life is obviously over.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

"Come Meet Glenn Party""Come Meet Glenn Party"
"Come Meet Glenn Party"

Mom threw a family get together that also served as a chance for everyone to meet Glenn.
CousinsCousins
Cousins

Brittana's cousins making S'mores.
Makena & Glenn Makena & Glenn
Makena & Glenn

Glenn's first time having S'mores (roasted marshmallow, graham cracker & chocolate sandwich).
Big ToeBig Toe
Big Toe

Brittana compares her notorious "big toes" to a bigger toe at the Seattle Science Center.


Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.025s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb