San Diego - The Last Port Of Call


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
July 20th 2007
Published: July 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The journey to San Diego took me via Guayaquil (Ecuador), San Jose (Costa Rica), Los Angeles, then finally San Diego. On arriving in the USA it was a pleasure to be in the modern world again, to be able to speak English and be understood, to be able to brush your teeth with tap water, and have a toilet seat on the toilet!

I came to San Diego not only because I like the city but principly to catch up with an old school friend of mine, Topher Woelk, and his wife Anne Celine. They live about a 15 minute drive from downtown San Diego in a pretty residential area. When we got to his house we grabbed the boards and headed straight for La Jolla beach and went for a surf. It was so nice to be back in the ocean and on a board.

We had a bbq with load of their friends on Saturday and went back to the beach for a surf on Sunday. I also managed to find the time to do some shopping which I felt compelled to do since the pound is so strong vs the US dollar and also because I will have hardly any clothes when I get back to the UK since my shipping doesn't arrive back from Australia until the middle of August!

For the last night of my travels the three of us went to a jazz restaurant in downtown San Diego called Croce's. The band, and the food, were excellent.

As I write this I am cogniscant of the fact that I should be packing up my back pack for the last time. Whilst sad that the freedom I have enjoyed for the last few months is drawing to a close, I am also excited to be returning to the UK, seeing friends and family and getting stuck in to life in London.






Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.215s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0915s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb