On Our Way to Europe!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
June 6th 2007
Published: June 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

In the Air



In the Air
Amanda

O’Hare Airport



We only had to get to the airport like 3 hours early. I’m sure Sharad would think we were insane. Michelle and I ate at the Chili’s in the airport. Michelle suggested Panda Express, but I vetoed that! Before we got through security, a bag when through the scanner with no tags and caused a huge issue. When we were waiting in the terminal to get on the plane there were several groups of Indians (families and individuals). After boarding began, none of them got onto the plane. I didn’t get it. It reminded me of Sharad because he is always running late and practically the last person on the plane.

On the plane they gave us dinner, which was, um, barely edible. Michelle from this point in the trip onward, got special “bonus points” for trying anything “American Michelle” would not normally try. Michelle took a chance and tried the rice, veggies and bread from the meal. She didn’t think she could stomach the chicken but she earned her bonus points for the day. We also watched Stranger than Fiction. I had already seen it but Michelle hadn’t. If you were blindfolded, I’m sure you could find us on the plane because we were laughing so hard. I’m sure the people around us not watching the movie didn’t appreciate us laughing, but I felt like it was a good start to our adventure.

I started to get sleepy and I decided I was going to call it a night, I pushed my seat back the 1.5 inches allowed by Iberian Airlines, turned on my iPod, closed my eyes and then, (WHAM!) the girl behind me kicked my seat. Ok, I’ll let it go, it’s a really small cabin she was probably just adjusting. WHAM! Um, I guess I’ll let that one go too. WHAM! WHAM! WHAM! At this point, I’m furious. I mean I am one of those people who really really does not appreciate the recline feature and those who need to recline for 2 hour flights, but come on, we’re gonna be on the plane for 9 flippin’ hours. Let me please get my 1.5 inches. Michelle, on the other hand, has fallen asleep, iPod still playing the audio book she was "reading", mouth wide open. Eventually, I surrendered my 1.5 inches and read my book instead. "European Amanda" was going to learn the joy of just being chill, letting little annoying problems go, and not uselessly worrying about things.

Michelle’s bonus points: 3, rice, veggies, and bread



Advertisement



Tot: 0.133s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 42; dbt: 0.0289s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb