Day 3


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
June 18th 2007
Published: June 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

DAY 3

We got up after a wonderful nine hours of sleep. I don't get nine of sleep at home! Vacations rule! We showered then went to eat at the English pub from last night, gassed up the van and hit the road all by 11:30. The drive from Harrisburg to Washington DC, if measured in Propagandhi albums, takes all of How to Clean Everything, Less Talk More Rock and most of Today's Empires Tomorrow's Ashes. I did switch to Municipal Waste when I saw the semi though.
DC was hot. Hot. Hot. Turned out to be 94 with little wind. Since this was my first time to DC I wasn't sure where you could park, so I did what I normally do. I panicked and parked in the first lot I found. We parked by the Convention Center, which isn't that far from things but we went too far too fast. First we saw the White House, then the Old Exec, then WWII Memorial, Lincoln, Vietnam, Washington, Smithsonian. We had a lot of water and bought some frozen treats from a vendor, but it was still too hot. By the time we were at the WWII Memorial Dondie and Mace's, that's our 7 year old boy, faces were bright red. By the time we got by the Smithsonian Mace was dragging. I didn't realize he was doing that badly. He was whining and starting to cry. He said he was going to throw up and I thought he was just being dramatic. We didn't have far to go to get back to the car, so I carried Troy, the 9 month old, and Mace went in the stroller. I walked on ahead and started the van and got the AC cranking. The others caught up and we got cold waters out and started to cool down. But not enough for Mace, he was having a bad time of it. He ended up throwing up his bomb pop and all the water. When the van was cooled down we climbed in and headed out, We were in DC from 1:10 to 4:45. That's speed walking. It was so hot that I think everyone just wanted to power through and get out of there. Mace rested in the back with sips of water and bites of crackers. He was back to normal within a few minutes, thank god.
After DC we headed for Delaware. I needed to make it to DE during this trip as I'm trying to see all the states of the US. We didn't have any real destination in DE, so it was just to be us driving through. Just over the border on I95 is the town of Newark, DE. That's where we stopped. We got a room at another national chain and headed for it. This is mile 1293 of the trip. We hit the pool then went out to find food. We went to a local Australian place, called Matilda's, where I had my second ever Yuengling and a burger made of, wait for it, kangaroo. Or that's what they say anyway, it tasted like beef to me. We hit up a grocery store for more car food, then went back to the room for sleep. Tomorrow its off to Philadelphia.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb