Easy Street Home


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
July 6th 2021
Published: July 6th 2021
Edit Blog Post

Typical travel day. We woke early to catch the train to the airport, shopping breakfast so full from the prior day. At the airport, we had a bit of confusion trying to check in as the AA desk was mixed in with another airline and had only a simple rollout stand to support people. I kept getting directed to a kiosk that didn't work. Eventually got them to help allowing me to sign the form stating we had valid Covid tests before getting a boarding pass. Through security, we headed to the gate hoping to make it to the agent to get a "T" for transfer added to our standby level due to our flight in the other day. This would put us at the top of the standby list increasing our odds of getting in business class. I feared the agent would push back if we arrived too late into her making the steat assignments. I barely made it. She had just started to clear the list. So she wasn't happy I was interrupting her work, but she did agree to adding the T. Win! We ended up in business class back to the US. It made for a much more enjoyable 10 hour flight home.

Since we came to the airport early for the T, I had time to get us drinks and snacks. I lucked out finding a bread store where in their limited stock (with covid meant places were limited items or even closed) I found a pastry with almond paste! That was the icing item I was hoping to find before I left and I couldn't believe my good fortune finding it away the airport just as I was to leave. I really was ready to go home then.

Uneventful flight and pleasant being in business class. We had no trouble leaving the DFW airport too. Customs didn't even check our Covid test. It's nice having little go wrong.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.232s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0773s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb