The drive part 2


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
May 25th 2019
Published: May 25th 2019
Edit Blog Post

snow , snow , snow snow , snow , snow snow , snow , snow

Beautiful snow in the Arizona mountains
Day 5

Left Payson this morning , had the chillest weather I‘ve seen in many years , 35 degrees and some light frost on my windows. We saw a fresh dusting of snow on the ground through the mountains in Arizona, beautiful country , lots of pine trees and hills. Pulling the camper went very well through all the hills and curves , getting joe use to it every day . Still doing my meditation and Hyponis practice at least once a day , but praying throughout the day , mostly to calm my mind and remember all the blessings , filled with gratitude.

The winds started blowing in Flagstaff , there was a storm rolling in from the west , the winds continued to blow very strongly about 25-40 miles an hour throughput the whole day into California but the camper did well with the anti sway bar on . I’ve never driven in a desert before and defiantly not in a sand storm but that was my path on this day . It was only really bad for about 5-10 minutes but it seemed a lot longer than that , you couldn’t see anything and there was
SignSignSign

Love the sign
no place to pull over either , we were on a stretch of a “no services “ roadway in the Mojave desert . My gas mileage went from 10 miles per gallon to about 5.

We were finally able to stop in Techpekia California, cold , cold 38 but with the wind guest it was freezing , my hands were shaking so hard when we finally landed for the night , all the griping on the steering wheel for over 8 hours. We found a nice hotel that took dogs and ordered a pizza and after a hot shower things looked better .

I am getting a better , broader picture of the expansiveness of out great country and its ever changing scenery, I really appreciate my southern home even more ! I have reflected during this journey how much strength and perseverance it took our ancestors to make this journey, not sure I would have that in me to do , thankful once again for who I am and the time I live in.



Day 6

Leaving the high altitude and desert environment to drive through Bakersfield and onto Medford Oregon for our
pizzapizzapizza

Finally pizza , hot shower and comfortable bed after a long hard day of driving!
last night before reaching Heathers . As we drove into the countryside of California we had storm clouds to our left that backed up to the mountains,we were in a huge valley on I-5. Beautiful background with the clouds , sun mountains and slightly misting, we saw a full bright rainbow and partial second rainbow. Feeling very blessed with all the nature and signs around us . We found an O,Riley’s in Gustine California, stopped and asked the semi truck repair station off the highway for directions , very helpful! The manager at O’Rileys , Matt , was very helpful and changed my air filter and added oil to my car . My gas mileage had already began to improve after we came off the mountains and the winds died down We stayed in Medford tonight.

Day 7

Stayed at another hotel tonight , got to go food at Elmer’s tonight . Great salad with dungess crab really good . Made the short drive to Heathers through beautiful mountains and country, nice change from the winds and desert . Arrived around 11 a place to rest for a bit. Thank you to Cheryl P. for letting us park
camas Washington camas Washington camas Washington

Almost there
my trailer there for a few nights and to the neighbor who backed me into the spot , still learning that one !

Very blessed and full of gratitude and love , thank you .


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

The travelers The travelers
The travelers

Arrived safely, blessed beyond my dreams ! Thank you Kathy for being the best co-pilot ever and putting up with me. !


26th May 2019

Harrowing drive!
We really enjoyed hearing about your wheel-gripping trip through the high desert! Congrats on meeting the challenge of pulling a trailer through remote, unfamiliar terrain!

Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0829s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb