That Was So Last Year


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
December 31st 2006
Published: January 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Quite behind the times I am. I will keep you in suspense as to where I currently write from but first wanted to share some pictures with you from the end of 2006.

I spent my final week before Thanksgiving and Christmas vacation in the rented apartment of my friends Steve, Theresa, Ben, and Oliver in Viña del Mar. My apologies to a few of you who were tormented by me holding the Skype microphone out the window during our conversations in order that you hear the waves crashing. Living the high life was nice for the week. After leaving Viña I headed back to Santiago to get my things in order for my trip back to the EEUU. I spent the weekend with friends in Santiago, did a small trek on the Cerro, and even managed to get in some Christmas shopping.

On November 22nd, manned with an extremely lighter suitcase (I brought it home empty in order to fill it with warm clothes for the Chilean winter) and a list of food that I wanted to eat while home, I hopped aboard the shuttle and was on my way home. Everything needed to go according to plan as I had a ticket to attend a Wilco show that night in Madison, Wisconsin. I arrived without glitches and made my way home with enough time to shower, empty my suitcase and refill it for a trip to Madison and then up north for Thanksgiving with my family. Julie and I had a blast at the Wilco show and the next morning I met Mark for another long haul to the north woods. I was forced to use the Thanksgiving holiday for some rest and recuperation as I was plagued by some sort of food allergy (I would hate to blame the McDonalds I ate earlier that morning) which kept me from enjoying the traditional feast and home cooking for a few days.

The following week I got into the car and drove back to Denver in order to make some visits and fill my belly with food from some of my favorite restaurants. I had a wonderful reunion with all my friends at Niver Creek while spending a few days in Meg's classroom. I even received a warm welcome back from a few students who forgot how much they did not like me last year. Chad and Melissa shared their spare room with me so I was able to set up a base camp for an entire week and it did not involve an Aerobed! It was wonderful to be back in my latest hometown to see everyone. I left Colorado in time to avoid the first blizzard and was back in Wisconsin to see as many high school friends as possible and spend a wonderful Christmas with my family. It was so nice to see so many of you while I was home! Enjoy the pictures.


Additional photos below
Photos: 34, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Casa Aventura, Truely a Family Friendly PlaceCasa Aventura, Truely a Family Friendly Place
Casa Aventura, Truely a Family Friendly Place

Proof that you too can travel with your family. One family with two young girls, the other with four children!


16th February 2007

Great pictures! You had quite a busy couple weeks. I'm sorry I missed you in Wisconsin. I'll catch you the next time around. Tyler is so cute!
17th February 2007

Where are you now??
I think I read that you were in Argentina, but you did not mention anything about it in this blog. So, where are you really?? Glad you got to see Brayden when you were in Denver. He is pretty special. Esther
17th February 2007

smiles :)
Sara - It was soooo wonderful to see you in December.... I only wish I had not been going through finals :( I love the pictures.... Send us more of an up-date about where you've been traveling in Jan and Feb!!! love you very much, Melissa
17th February 2007

Great to see the pictures. Can't wait for the next blog. Talk to you soon, Sara. Love you! Sara
19th February 2007

Sara, It was so great to Skype with you the other night. Stay safe an remember we all miss and love you. As usual the pictures are beautiful Love, Nancy
20th February 2007

Love you, Auntie Sara!
Hi, Aunt Sara! I was so happy to see you over Christmas! Thank you for all of the gifts!! Mommy will try to send you some pictures soon. We all think your pictures are gorgeous! I miss you so much. I can't wait to see you again-I'm growing so fast...took my first step last week! Look out world, here I come! Talk to you soon! I love you to the moon and back!! Love, your little Ty-Man

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0264s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb